How PV Sindhu clinched maiden China Open title, watch video

PV Sindhu battled past Chinese Sun Yu to win her first Superseries Premier title at the China Open tournament.

By: Express Web Desk | Updated: November 20, 2016 6:43 pm
PV Sindhu defeated Sun Yu by 21-11, 17-21, 21-11 to win her maiden China Open title. (Source: Twitter)

PV Sindhu battled past Chinese Sun Yu to win her first Superseries Premier title at the China Open tournament. Rio Olympic silver medallist won the first game 21-11 but lost the next 17-21 before registering a 21-11 triumph in the final game to clinch the title.

Sindhu-Sun final lasted an hour and nine minutes. It was 21-year-old Sindhu’s maiden title. This win also was double World Championships bronze medallist Sindhu’s third in six games against Sun.

In the final game, the momentum shifted as Sindhu went on an attacking spree. Her ability to play long rallies wore down Sun, who even though she fought hard till the six-point mark, Sun crumbled under pressure.

Indian player then hardly looked back, rattling points one after another to sit at a 16-9 advantage. Thereafter, it was a cakewalk for the Indian.

The Indian looked sharp and athletic as she engaged in a fast-paced game to bamboozle her opponent. The lanky shuttler became third Indian to lift the title, earlier to lift the title were Kidambi Srikanth (2014) an Saina Nehwal (2014).

Sindhu, who missed gold in Rio Olympics after going down to Carolina Marin 21-19, 12-21, 15-21 in an hour and 23 minutes, also became the fourth non-chinese player to win the title in last 30 years.

For all the latest Sports News, download Indian Express App now

First Published on: November 20, 2016 6:38 pm
  1. S
    S Subramaniam
    Nov 20, 2016 at 2:58 pm
    Great achievement, heartiest congratulations and wish her all the best in all future tournaments.

    IPL Fixtures


    26th T20

    04:00 PM (IST) April 23, 2017 .

    Gujarat Lions vs Kings XI Punjab

    Saurashtra Cricket Association Stadium, Rajkot

    27th T20

    08:00 PM (IST) April 23, 2017 .

    Kolkata Knight Riders vs Royal Challengers Bangalore

    Eden Gardens, Kolkata

    28th T20

    08:00 PM (IST) April 24, 2017 .

    Mumbai Indians vs Rising Pune Supergiant

    Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai

    29th T20

    08:00 PM (IST) April 25, 2017 .

    Royal Challengers Bangalore vs Sunrisers Hyderabad

    M.Chinnaswamy Stadium, Bengaluru

    30th T20

    08:00 PM (IST) April 26, 2017 .

    Rising Pune Supergiant vs Kolkata Knight Riders

    Maharashtra Cricket Association Stadium, Pune