Fifteen-month wait ends, Saina Nehwal in final at Lucknow

Saina will face second seed PV Sindhu in the summit clash.

Lucknow | Updated: January 26, 2014 11:56 am
Saina will face second seed PV Sindhu in the summit clash (File) Saina will face second seed PV Sindhu in the summit clash (File)

The semi-finals of the Syed Modi International India Grand Prix Gold tournament provided top seed Saina Nehwal much needed relief when she outclassed sixth seed Xuan Deng (China) 21-14, 17-21, 21-19 to make the final. This will be the first time that she has made the final of a tournament in more than a year.

Saina will face second seed PV Sindhu in the summit clash. Sindhu beat fourth seed Lindaweni Fanetri of Indonesia 21-6, 12-21, 21-17 in another keenly-contested fight which lasted for a little over an hour.

In the men’s singles final, sixth seed K Srikanth of India will face ninth seed Xue Song of China. While Srikanth defeated compatriot and seventh seed HS Prannoy 21-18, 22-20, Xue Song beat Aditya Prakash of India 21-10, 21-7 in their respective semi-final clashes.

The semi-final clash between World no. 9 Saina Nehwal and World no. 49 Xuan Deng was a thriller. Saina exercised an upper hand in the first game from the very beginning and won it 21-14. However, in the second game, Xuan took a slender lead at 4-6 but Saina levelled it at 7-7 and even lead 14-10 but thereafter Xuan collected four straight points to bring parity to the scores. Deng kept fighting for each point and won the second game 17-21.

In the decider, Saina trailed 0-7 but equalised at 8-8. Ultimately, Saina prevailed in what was a close game, 21-19.
In men’s doubles, the Chinese pair of Li Junhui and Liu Yuchen of China registered a 21-18, 21-15 victory over Indian pair Pranav Jerry Chopra and Akshay Dewalkar in the semis.

For all the latest Sports News, download Indian Express App now

First Published on: January 26, 2014 1:41 am
  1. No Comments.

IPL Fixtures


28th T20

08:00 PM (IST) April 24, 2017 .

Mumbai Indians vs Rising Pune Supergiant

Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai

29th T20

08:00 PM (IST) April 25, 2017 .

Royal Challengers Bangalore vs Sunrisers Hyderabad

M.Chinnaswamy Stadium, Bengaluru

30th T20

08:00 PM (IST) April 26, 2017 .

Rising Pune Supergiant vs Kolkata Knight Riders

Maharashtra Cricket Association Stadium, Pune

31st T20

08:00 PM (IST) April 27, 2017 .

Royal Challengers Bangalore vs Gujarat Lions

M.Chinnaswamy Stadium, Bengaluru

32nd T20

04:00 PM (IST) April 28, 2017 .

Kolkata Knight Riders vs Delhi Daredevils

Eden Gardens, Kolkata