Seats vacated by Modi, Mulayam to go to bypoll on September 13

Modi and Mulayam vacated their Vadodra and Mainpuri seats to retain Varanasi and Azamgarh seats respectively.

By: Express News Service Written by Raghvendra Rao | New Delhi | Updated: August 16, 2014 8:59 pm
modi Modi and Mulayam vacated their Vadodra and Mainpuri seats to retain Varanasi and Azamgarh seats respectively. (Source: IE)

The Lok Sabha seats of Vadodara in Gujarat and Mainpuri in Uttar Pradesh — that fell vacant after their respective MPs Narendra Modi and Mulayam Singh Yadav chose to retain the other parliamentary seats they had won from — will go to a by-election on September 13, the Election Commission stated on Saturday.

The results for this by-election will be declared on September 16.

Vadodara Lok Sabha seat fell vacant after Modi chose to retain the Varanasi seat while Mainpuri fell vacant after Yadav decided to retain the Azamgarh seat.

Modi had defeated Congress’ Madhusudan Mistri by over 5.70 lakh votes in Vadodara while Yadav had defeated BJP’s Shatrughan Singh Chauhan by over 3.64 lakh votes from Mainpuri.

Yadav subsequently chose to retain the Azamgarh seat where he had defeated BJP’s Ramakant Yadav by a much lesser 63,204 votes. Modi, too, chose to retain the Varanasi Lok Sabha seat where he had defeated Aam Aadmi Party’s Arvind Kejriwal by margin of over 3.71 lakh votes.

Medak parliamentary constituency in Andhra Pradesh will be the third Lok Sabha seat that will witness a bypoll on September 13. The Medak seat fell vacant after TRS Chief K Chandrasekhar Rao became the first Chief Minister of Telangana. In addition, 33 state assembly seats spread over nine states will also go to bypolls on the same date.

Of these 33 seats, 11 are in Uttar Pradesh, nine in Gujarat, four in Rajasthan, three in Assam, two in West Bengal and one each in Sikkim, Tripura, Chhattisgarh and Andhra Pradesh.

The last date of making nomination will be August 27, while the last date for withdrawal of candidatures will be August 30. With the announcement of the by-election date, the model code of conduct for all the concerned constituencies also kicked in with immediate effect.


Have You Tried These 15 Minutes Recipes Yet?

For all the latest India News, download Indian Express App

    Live Cricket Scores & Results