Indian Express

People of Varanasi have endorsed my silence and made me win with a huge margin, says Narendra Modi

Narendra Modi will reach Varanasi and attend Ganga Aarti in the evening. Tweet This
Celebrations have begun even before his arrival in the national capital. (Source: AP) Celebrations have begun even before his arrival in the national capital. (Source: AP)

India has given its mandate in favour of Narendra Modi-led BJP. And the next Prime Minister of the country is in Delhi for a victory lap and to attend a meeting of the highest decision making body of his party. Here are the highlights of the day:

In pictures: Victorious Narendra Modi reaches Delhi


9.31 pm: Rivals may huddle together to look as Opposition: Modi

9. 23 pm: Non-NDA parties may have to form alliance for Opp status: Modi

8.57 pm: Nitish was left with no option, says Paswan

8.29 pm: Nepal PM congratulates Modi

8.15 pm: Despite Modi wave, 1.8 pc of Gujarat voters went for NOTA

8.12 pm: Bihar Governor D Y Patil today accepted the resignation of Chief Minister Nitish Kumar and his cabinet.

8.09 pm: Eyes on Assembly polls, Maha BJP looks to Amit Shah

8.06 pm: I didn’t even get a chance to campaign, says Narendra Modi.

8.05 pm: Narendra Modi thanks Varanasi voters.

8.04 pm: Narendra Modi thanks Varanasi, says ”Ma Ganga ne mujhe bulaya hai’

8.02 pm: I came to Varanasi as a candidate but as soon as I filed my nomination I became a son of this place, says Narendra Modi

8.01 pm: I thank all the people, says Narendra Modi.

8.00 pm: The people of Varanasi have endorsed my silence and made me win with a huge margin, says Narendra Modi

7.58 pm: Narendra Modi performs Ganga aarti in Varanasi.

7. 38 pm: Resignation is to’emotionally blackmail’ rebel JD(U) MLAs, says BJP

7.16 pm: TMC will play big role in Lok Sabha: Mamata Banerjee

7.09 pm: Modi to be elected leader of parliamentary party on May 20

7.00 pm:   Narendra Modi will lead country to progress, says  Pawan Kalyan

 6.35 pm:   Ready to sink differences with RJD chief Lalu Prasad for forming secular alliance govt in Bihar, says JD(U) chief.

6.16 pm:  Nine sitting MLAs in Gujarat win LS polls

6.15 pm:   A new government will be formed in Bihar and it will be of JD(U), says Sharad Yadav

6.10 pm: Jaya congratulates Modi on ‘magnificent victory’ in LS polls

5.53 pm: Lok Sabha gets 29 new entrants from Maharashtra

5.20 pm: BJP ran a highly divisive campaign in the country, says Nitish Kumar

5.19 pm: My good wishes are with Narendra Modi. He has the mandate to lead the country, says Nitish Kumar

5.18 pm: Have called a meeting of the JD(U) Legislature Party to elect a new leader, says Nitish  Kumar

5.17 pm:  Breaking alliance with BJP was not a mistake, says Nitish Kumar

5.16 pm: MLAs will chose their next leader, says Nitish Kumar

5.15 pm: To break away from the BJP was a correct decision which was taken on the basis of our principles, says Nitish Kumar

5.14 pm: I led the campaign and whatever the results are, the responsibility is mine, says Nitish Kumar

5.13 pm: My decision to resign is not unilateral. Party will meet and discuss continued…


READ MORE ON: BJP, delhi, Narendra Modi,
comments powered by Disqus

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 981 other followers