Monday, May 04, 2015

Lalu Prasad Yadav, Nitish Kumar to share dais today after 20 years

Nitish Kumar and Lalu Prasad Nitish Kumar and Lalu Prasad
Written by Santosh Singh | Patna | Updated: August 11, 2014 10:13 am

RJD chief Lalu Prasad and JD(U) leader Nitish Kumar will share dais on Monday at Hajipur and Mohiuddinagar, two of 10 Assembly segments in Bihar where bypolls will be held on August 21. This will be the first time in 20 years that the two top leaders will be sharing a platform for election campaigning.

Nitish and Lalu had last shared the dais in 1993, a few months before Nitish parted ways with Lalu to join Samata Party.

Nitish and Lalu will travel to the venues in separate vehicles. After sharing the dais at Hajipur, the two leaders will join for one-on-one meeting for the first time to chalk out the election strategy.

JD(U) has fielded Rajendra Rai against BJP’s Awadhesh Singh Patel. The seat has been won by the BJP four times in a row. With Hajipur having a sizeable Yadav, Koeri-Kurmi and Dalit population, the JD (U) is taking it an experiment to know how its alliance with the RJD can work in future.

After the Hajipur meet, the two leaders will move to Mohiuddinagar, which was won by the RJD last time.

RJD spokesperson Mrityunjay Kumar Tiwari confirmed the joint meet of the two leaders. “They will again share the dais at Chhapra, Narkatiaganj and Mohania on August 17 when they will travel together in a helicopter,” said Tiwari.

The Congress is contesting Narkatiaganj and Bhagalpur as part of grand alliance with RJD and JD(U).

First Published on: August 11, 201412:46 am
Do you like this story