West Bengal registers 82 per cent polling, while Maharashtra registers only 55.3 per cent

The terror affected Chhattisgarh records 62.5 per cent polling on Thursday.

By: Express News Service | New Delhi | Updated: April 24, 2014 9:06:39 pm

The polling for the sixth phase of elections, which will seal the fate of several heavyweights, is underway. Here’s a look at highlights from across the country:

7:40 pm:  West Bengal registers 82 per cent polling for 6 Lok Sabha seats, Uttar Pradesh 58.58 per cent for 12 seats, Madhya Pradesh records 64.4 per cent turnout for 10 seats, Tamil Nadu 73 per cent for 39 seats and Rajasthan 59.2 per cent for 5 seats,  Maharashtra records 55.33 per cent voter turnout for 19 seats, Chhattisgarh records 62.5 per cent  turnout, Bihar 60 per cent for 7 seats each, Jharkhand 63.4  per cent for 4 seats, Assam 77.05  per cent for 6 seats

6:09 pm: Over 55 per cent voting recorded till 5 pm in Uttar Pradesh

6:06 pm: 59 per cent voters cast their vote in Madhya Pradesh till 5 pm

6:05 pm: Approximately 70 per cent electorate cast their vote  in Tamil Nadu.

5: 58 pm: Only five per cent of the three lakh voter had exercised their franchise till 3 pm in the Pulwama district where militants and separatist groups have a sizable following.
5:42 pm: Nearly 40 per cent of the electorate cast their vote on in the first seven hours of polling in 117 constituencies in 11 states and Union Territory of Puducherry on Thursday  amid stray incidents of violence which left a policeman dead in Assam and 13 others injured in other states.

5:37 pm: 35.92 per cent polling in Maharashtra till 3 pm.

5:35 pm: Around 56 per cent of the electorate cast their vote till 4 pm in the seven Lok Sabha seats in Chhattisgarh, where the last phase of polling is taking place on Thursday.

02: 45 pm: A moderate 35 per cent polling was recorded till 1 pm in seven parliamentary constituencies of Chhattisgarh during the third and final phase of Lok Sabha polls in the state on Thursday.

1:30 pm: PM Manmohan Singh says that there is no Modi wave in the country.


pmmm PM Manmohan Singh. (Photo: Dasarath Deka)

12: 56 pm: Tamil Nadu, where 39 Lok Sabha constituencies are facing single phase voting, on Thursday witnessed a turn out of about 40 per cent of the 5.50 crore electorate till noon.

12: 50 pm:  I don’t think the country is struck by any Modi-wave…It (Modi-wave) is the creation of the media, says PM Manmohan Singh after voting in Guwahati

12: 45 am: About 20 per cent of electorate cast their votes in the first three hours of polling till 10 AM in seven Lok Sabha constituencies of Chhattisgarh going to polls in the third and final phase on Thursday.

12: 16 am: An average of 29 per cent voting was registered during the initial hours on Thursday on the second polling day in 5 parliamentary constituencies in Rajasthan.


12: 13 pm: Over 24.63 per cent voters exercised their franchise in the first four hours in Uttar Pradesh, where polling is going on in 12 seats in the third phase to decide fate of 188 candidates.

12: 10 pm: MP CM Shivraj Singh Chouhan

11: 39 am: About 28 per cent turnout was recorded in six Parliamentary constituencies of West Bengal in the first three hours of voting on Thursday.


Voters show their ID cards as they wait in a queue to cast their vote at a polling station in South Dinajpur district of West Bengal, on Thursday. (Photo: PTI)


10: 57 am: Poor turnout till 9 am in third phase of polling in Maharashtra

10: 55 am: Preity Zinta


 10: 30 am: Pritish Nandy: I bet this time Mumbai will cast more votes… No more apathy.


10.20 am: Madhya Pradesh Chief Minister Shivraj Singh Chouhan casts his vote in Bhopal.

10: 10 am: Shilpa Shetty Kundra

9.42 am:

9.36 am: Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) leader Medha Patkar casts her vote, alleges money were distributed on Wednesday night by leaders of other parties to seek votes.

9.31 am: Congress leader Priya Dutt casts her vote, urges Mumbai people, primarily youth, to come out and vote in large numbers.

9.28 am: HDFC chairman Deepak Parekh says his name is missing from the voter list at the constituency where he has been casting his vote for years.

9.17 am: Tamil Nadu Chief Minister and AIADMK chief J Jayalalithaa casts her vote in Chennai, says she would reserve her comments till the results of the elections are declared. She requested all political parties to cooperate with the Election Commission to ensure peaceful polling.

9.16 am:

8.59 am:

8.56 am:

8.49 am: Actor Aamir Khan casts his vote.

8.12 am: After casting his vote, Samjwadi Party leader Shivpal Yadav has asserted that his party will win all seats in the sixth phase of Lok Sabha elections in Uttar Pradesh.


8.08 am: Actors Sonam Kapoor and Sunny Deol cast their votes.

7.56 am: Actor Rajinikanth casts his vote for the Lok Sabha elections in Chennai.

7.44 am: Anil Ambani casts his vote.

7.38 am: Samajwadi Party chief Mulayam Singh Yadav casts his vote.

7.30 am: Polling began on a peaceful note in 117 Lok Sabha seats across 11 states and one Union Territory in the phase 6 of 2014 General Elections.

For all the latest India News, download Indian Express App

Share your thoughts