March 29 Elections round up: Modi says Congress Mukht India, corruption free India; Sabir Ali files defamation case against Naqvi

BJP's prime ministerial candidate Narendra Modi. (AP) BJP's prime ministerial candidate Narendra Modi. (AP)

Get all the latest updates on Lok Sabha elections throughout the day:

10.00 pm: BJP’s Rajasthan state unit is mulling disciplinary action against its rebel leaders, including former Union ministers Jaswant Singh and Subhas Maharia who are contesting the Lok Sabha elections as Independent.

9.58 pm: Senior VHP leader Ashok Singhal today backed BJP prime ministerial candidate Narendra Modi’s remarks that AAP chief Arvind Kejriwal was “an agent of Pakistan”.

9.55 pm: Former Jalna MP Uttamsingh Pawar today said he would contest as an Independent candidate from Aurangabad constituency in upcoming polls.

9.20 pm: The Election Commission (EC) today declared all polling stations in Bihar as non-smoking zone under section 4 of Cigarettes and Other Tobacco Products (Prohibition of Advertisement and Regulation of Trade and Commerce, Production, Supply and Distribution) Act, 2003 (COTPA).

9.15 pm: In its attempt to regain the lost ground in Delhi, Congress president Sonia Gandhi will address a rally here on Sunday, just 10 days ahead of Lok sabha polls which will decide the fate of seven seats of the city.

Read: Sonia Gandhi to address rally in Delhi on Sunday

9.10 pm: About 82,000 poling staff would be deputed at 16,244 polling stations for free and fair conduct of Lok Sabha elections for the 10 seats in Haryana on April 10.

9.00 pm: Lok Satta Party founder president Jayaprakash Narayan today said the outfit would “join hands” with BJP because its PM nominee Narendra Modi is emphasising upon good governance and economic development.

8.24 pm: Janata Dal (United) today released its list of 14 Lok Sabha candidates for Karanataka, Kerala, West Bengal and Maharashtra and extended support to Socialist Party candidate from East Delhi Prem Singh.

8.20 pm: CPI(M) is open to a post-poll alliance with all parties, including Jayalalithaa-led AIADMK which has dumped a pre-poll understanding with Left Front in Tamil Nadu, if they continue to maintain a non-Congress, non-BJP stance, senior party leader Sitaram Yechury said.

CPI(M) open to form alliance with Jayalalithaa again post poll: Sitaram Yechury

8.15 pm: Congress today gave a representation to Uttar Pradesh Chief Electoral Officer Umesh Sinha stressing that the “hate speech” made by its Saharanpur nominee Imran Masood was six-month old, “so does not amount to violation of the Model Code of Conduct (MCC)”.

Read: Congress moves EC, seeks dropping of MCC violation charges against Imran Masood

8.10 pm: Congress leader Mani Shankar Aiyar, anti-nuclear activist and Aam Admi Party’s (AAP) candidate S P Udayakumar were among 63 candidates who filed their papers on the opening day of nominations today for the April 24 Lok Sabha elections in Tamil Nadu.

Read: Mani Shankar Aiyar among 63 file nominations in Tamil Nadu

7.19 pm: CPI Central Committee member and former MP Shatrughan Prasad Singh resigned from the party on Saturday.

7.16 pm: Samajwadi Party supremo Mulayam Singh Yadav will file his nomination papers from Azamgarh Lok Sabha seat on April 22.

7.14 pm: Claiming that Samajwadi Party …continued »