Bypoll results LIVE: Bellary Rural falls to Congress; grand alliance wins six seats in Bihar

Counting is currently underway in four states -- Bihar, Punjab, Karnataka and Madhya Pradesh -- for seats that went to bypoll.

Written by Santosh Singh | Patna/new Delhi | Updated: August 25, 2014 1:54 pm
Though the result will have no bearing on the continuity of JD (U) government, it may well have impact on future of Lalu-Nitish combination. Though the result will have no bearing on the continuity of JD (U) government, it may well have impact on future of Lalu-Nitish combination.

8.34 am:

9.00 am: After two rounds of counting for 10 Assemblby polls that went to polls on 21 August, grand alliance of RJD-JD (U)-Congress are leading in four assembly seats against two by BJP. While RJD has been leading at Chhapra and Hohiuddinagar, its alliance partners Congress and JD (U) have been maintaining leads at Narkatiyaganj and Parbatta respectively.

9.20 am:

9.40 am: Stakes are high for the royal family of Patiala and the ruling Akalis as the results of the bypolls to Patiala and Talwandi Sabo Assembly seats in Punjab will be announced today.

9.42 am: Counting of votes for the Aug 21 bye-elections to the three Assembly seats in Karnataka began today morning.

9.43 am: Twenty-two candidates are in the fray for the by-polls which are the first popular test in the state after the Lok Sabha polls.

9.58 am:

10.01 am: Congress lead in two seats in Karnataka,. BJP in one seat.

10.10 am: BJP is leading in five seats while secular alliance comprising RJD, JD(U) and Congress is ahead in 4 seats of the total 10 Assembly seats where bypoll was held on August 21.

10.24 am: BJP: Mohania, Narkatiyaganj, Rajnagar, Banka and Hajipur; RJD: Chhapra and Mohiuddinagar; JD(U): Parbatta and Jale; Congress: Bhagalpur.

Madhya Pradesh | Create Infographics
Bihar | Create Infographics
Punjab bypolls | Create Infographics
Karnataka bypolls | Create Infographics

10.30 am: Congress wins Patiala seat. AAP candidate loses deposit.

10.59 am: Congress wins Bellary rural seat by 25,000 votes.

11.15 am: BJP wins Agar seat in Madhya Pradesh.

11.30 am: BJP wins Narkatiyaganh seat and RJD wins Mohiuddinagar seat.

12.20 am:  BS Yeddyurappa son wins Shikaripur bypoll.

12.30 am: RJD leading in four and BJP in two assembly seats.

12.31 am:  RJD Mohiuddinagar candidate Ajay Kumar Bulganin wins.

12.32 am: RJD candidate Ramavtar Paswan wins from Rajnagar.

12.33 am: BJP candidate  Rashmi Verma wins Narkatiaganj seat.

12.35 am: BJP candidate Ramnarayan Mandal wins Banka bypoll.

1.50 am: Final seat tally

BJP: Narkatiaganj, Mohania, Banka and Hajipur

RJD: Chhapra, Mohiuddinagar and Rajnagar, JD (U): Parbatta and Jale, Congress: Bhagalpur

For all the latest India News, download Indian Express App now