BJP makes a comeback in UP; BSP fails to open its account

BJP's national president Rajnath Singh too has taken a lead of over 1.40 lakh votes from Lucknow.

Lucknow | Published: May 16, 2014 4:43:31 pm

By: Faisal Fareed

In a thumping victory BJP had won 39 seats and is leading on 33 seats. BJP’s Narendra Modi who also contested from Varanasi is leading by over 2.62 lakh votes from AAP’s Arvind Kejriwal.

Another surprising fact, till now no Muslim candidate from UP has been declared victorious. SP had fielded 13, BSP-19 and Congress nine candidates—all are trailing or have lost the election. In 2009, seven Muslim MPs were elected from UP.

BJP’s national president Rajnath Singh too has taken a lead of over 1.40 lakh votes from Lucknow. BJP’s Varun Gandhi has won election from Sultanpur. BJP’s expected tally including the leading seats stands at 70 while it had just 10 seats in 2009 elections. BJP had also won the Etawah seat which is the home district of Samajwadi Party president Mulayam Singh Yadav. This is the best ever performance of BJP crossing its previous best score of 58 seats in 1998.

BJP’s ally Apna Dal too had won two seats―Anupriya Patel from Mirzapur and Kunwar Harbansh Singh from Pratapgarh.

BSP which had won 20 seats in 2009 failed to open its account. It lost in all the 80 seats in UP. BSP since its inception in 1984, it will remain unrepresented in Lok Sabha. Rashtriya Lok Dal (RLD) which had won 5 seats in 2009 too failed to win any seat. Its president Ajit Singh lost from Baghpat to BJP’s Satyapal Singh and Ajit’s son Jayant Choudhary lost to BJP’s Hema Malini from Mathura. RLD’s candidate Rakesh Tikait who is the son of former farmer’s leader Mahendra Singh Tikait, the founder of Bhartiya Kisan Union too lost miserably in Amroha.

SP which is in power in UP is now confined to five seats where the family members of Mulayam Singh Yadav are contesting. Mulayam himself is leading from Mainpuri and Azamgarh while his nephews Akshay Yadav and Dharmendra Yadav are leading from Ferozabad and Badaun and daughter in law Dimple Yadav leading from Kannauj. BJP’s Subrat Pathak is giving tough fight to Dimple Yadav who is the wife of CM Akhilesh Yadav at Kannauj. SP had won 23 seats in 2009 Lok Sabha polls. SP is though giving tough fight to BJP in Rampur and Sambhal. Seven ministers of Akhilesh Yadav government have lost Lok Sabha polls. This is the lowest tally of SP since its inception in 1992. Akhilesh Yadav’s claim of being number one in UP also fell flat.

Congress which had 22 MP in the outgoing Lok Sabha from UP also failed miserably. Only Sonia Gandhi won from Raebareli and her son Rahul Gandhi is leading in Amethi. Five union ministers of UPA regime—Jitin Prasad, Pradeep Jain Aditya, Beni Prasad Verma, R PN Singh, Sriprakash Jaiswal too have lost their elections in UP. Congress candidates film stars Nagma who was fielded by Congress from Meerut and Ravi Kishan from Jaunpur have lost their election. Former cricketer Mohammad Kaif too failed in his political debut after he lost polls from Phulpur.

Film star Javed Jaffery who contest as AAP candidate from Lucknow is trailing and is on fifth place while AAP leader Kumar Vishwas is trailing and is on fourth place in Amethi.

Barring BJP, party offices of all other political parties SP, BSP and Congress wore a deserted look at Lucknow.

For all the latest India News, download Indian Express App

Share your thoughts