Assembly elections results LIVE: AAP has proved that we can win polls with honesty: Arvind Kejriwal

BJP Delhi CM candidate Harsh Vardhan thanked Sheila Dikshit for serving as Chief Minister for 15 years.

Written by Express News Service | New Delhi | Published on:December 8, 2013 7:45 am

Counting of votes in four states – Delhi,Madhya Pradesh,Rajasthan and Chhattisgarh began at 8 am on Sunday. The fate of several political heavyweights in these Assembly elections have been sealed by the voters,who turned out for the polling in huge numbers.

Here are live updates on the results of Assembly elections 2013 as the counting proceeds:

6.00 pm Arvind Kejriwal says it is for the first time that a party fought with all honesty without money power and force. He said that the results show that people are fed up of the corrupt governance of Congress and other.

Pointing that common people,who fought from his party,defeated bigwigs of big parties. He said that it is for the first time that common people can join electoral politics with honesty.

5.00 pm “The people of this country have given us a message that we have heard from both mind and heart. The Congress party has the ability to transform itself…has the ability to fulfill the aspirations of the people,” said Rahul Gandhi.

The Gandhi scion said that the Congress needs to move to a paradigm where the common man is involved in the process within the party. Conceding defeat and congratulating the opponents,Rahul said that he would ensure that the Congress undergoes the transformation that is needed.

Rahul said he would work aggressively to make the organisational changes that are needed.

Referring to the Aam Aadmi Party,he said that they involved those who were not considered by both the BJP and the Congress,adding that both the national parties needed to learn the same from Arvind Kejriwal’s party.

4.55 pm Congress president Sonia Gandhi concedes defeat on behalf of her party even as she congratulates the opposition parties. Addressing mediapersons,the party president said that the Congress needed to introspect on the way it has been pursuing its strategies. She further thanked Congress party workers. Sonia said that the party would take all necessary actions to make things better for party in future.

She,however,ruled out that the results were a referendum on the 2014 Lok Sabha elections,saying there is difference between both as the issues are not the same.

4.52 pm Chhattisgarh Chief Minister Raman Singh declares the his victory in the state,dedicating his win to the voters. The Chief Minister thanked the people for showing faith in his government.

3.45 pm Former Union minister Suresh Pachauri loses from Bhojpur constituency in Madhya Pradesh.

3.35 pm Following his win against Sheila Dikshit and spectacular performance of the Aam Aadmi Party in the Delhi elections,Arvind Kejriwal has said that his party would not support anyone. He said,”This is not my victory. It is a victory of New Delhi constituency and democracy.”

3.09 pm BJP’s Chief Ministerial candidate Harsh Vardhan has won the election from the Krishna Nagar constituency in Delhi. Following his win,Vardhan thanked the people of his constituency and Delhi for voting for the BJP. He also congratulated the Aam Aadmi Party for “performing well against expectations”. Also,he thanked Sheila Dikshit for serving Delhi for 15 years in a row.

3.07 pm Aam Aadmi Party founder Arvind Kejriwal …continued »

Do you like this story