10 per cent votes cast in Manipur till 9 am

Ten per cent of the 8.53 lakh voters on Thursday cast their votes to elect their representative from Inner Manipur Parliamentary seat till 9 am.

People were seen standing in queues in front of the 1256 polling stations in the four valley districts of Imphal East, Imphal West, Thoubal and Bishenpur.

Women voters in their traditional attire turned out in large numbers in most of the booths. Of the 8,53,06 voters in Inner Manipur, 4,37,755 are women.

No untoward incident was reported.

Precautionary measures were taken in view of militant outfit, Manipur Maoist Party, boycotting the poll. Manipur has two Parliamentary constituencies, Inner Manipur and Outer Manipur.

The first phase poll in Outer Manipur comprising hill districts was held on April 17.