Maximum votes for Meira Kumar could come from Bengal

Among members of the Rajya Sabha from Bengal, Kovind’s score could be zero, since the BJP does not have single member from the state in the Upper House of the Parliament

By: Express News Service | Kolkata | Published: July 17, 2017 1:48 am
Presidential Election, Meira Kumar, Kovind, TMC, CPI(M), BJP, Congress, India News, Indian Express, Indian Express News Opposition’s presidential candidate Meira Kumar. (PTI Photo)

A rare political unity in West Bengal between the Trinamool Congress, the Left and the Congress for the Presidential election is expected see the largest number of legislators from one state voting for Meira Kumar, the UPA’s candidate. Although the odds favour the NDA’s Presidential face Ram Nath Kovind nationally, in the 295-member Bengal Assembly and among its 42 Lok Sabha members, the presence of the BJP is weak.

Kovind is assured of the support of six legislators in the Assembly — three from the BJP and three from its political ally Gorkha Janmukti Morcha. Kovind will get the votes of two BJP Lok Sabha members also. That would mean 288 state legislators — there is one nominated member who is ineligible to vote — and 40 MPs from Bengal could be expected to vote for Kumar.

Among members of the Rajya Sabha from Bengal, Kovind’s score could be zero, since the BJP does not have single member from the state in the Upper House of the Parliament. Of the 16 seats in the Rajya Sabha from Bengal, 12 are with Trinamool Congress, one with the Congress and three with CPI(M). The value of vote per Lok Sabha and Rajya Sabha member is 708. The vote value of each state legislator in West Bengal is 151. The Presidential election is by a secret ballot and there is no whip.

Two ballot boxes have already reached Kolkata and most of the legislators are expected to vote in the West Bengal capital. The Election Commission for the first time has also prepared posters containing dos and don’ts for the electors. Green-coloured ballot papers will be there for the MPs and pink ones for the MLAs to cast votes,” the officer said.

Besides two representatives, one each for the two Presidential candidates, who will be present during the polling, armed policemen belonging to the Kolkata Police will be posted inside the House on Monday. The ballot boxes will leave for New Delhi amid tight security on Tuesday.

—With PTI

For all the latest India News, download Indian Express App

  1. Krishna Kant Singh
    Jul 17, 2017 at 2:54 pm
    Though this election is meaningless as far as the people are concerned, who are exploited and oppressed. The result is also known. However, this election is another event for RSS to propagate its poisonous ideology, as well as to break the unity of the opposition. Here Bihar has fallen into the trap!
    1. S
      Jul 17, 2017 at 2:33 pm
      Hyprocasy of the media. s. What a great Headline. Meira kumar is going to get zero lok sabha vote from Gujarat,HP,Rajasthan,Delhi,uttarkhand, TN,Goa,AP. But the media is highlighting BJP nominee getting zero rajyasabha vote from bengal
      1. paul
        Jul 17, 2017 at 2:32 pm
        Prime Minister of India, no more Sudra' OBC, Brahmin, Bania but of SC/Dalit origin either Bihar' Paswan/ or Himachli JP Nadha
        1. paul
          Jul 17, 2017 at 2:29 pm
          Next Prime Minister of India, no more from General Category BUT RV Paswan of Bihar/ or next choice now Health Ministe JP Nadha of Himachel Defense Minister short term chief of BCCI, Anurag Thakur Finance Minister, BJP MP, Yogi Aditay Nath now CM UP
          1. R
            Jul 17, 2017 at 2:24 pm
            No surprize! Looters support looters...desh drohies support desh drohies! We all know about this.
            1. Load More Comments