Cabinet done, rejig in BJP next

Written by Ravish Tiwari | New Delhi | Published:May 27, 2014 2:13 am

The Cabinet of Narendra Modi, unveiled Monday, has also paved the way for an organisational rejig within the BJP with many persons in crucial party positions joining the government.

While BJP president Rajnath Singh’s induction into the Cabinet has set the ball rolling for a change in the top party position, there are a clutch of state unit heads who also need to be replaced as they have joined the government.

Apart from Rajnath Singh, three party vice-presidents — Jual Oram, Uma Bharti and Smriti Irani — and three national general secretaries — Ananth Kumar, Thawarchand Gehlot and Dharmendra Pradhan — have become part of the Council of Ministers.

Additionally, party treasurer Piyush Goel and two from among party spokespersons — Prakash Javadekar and Nirmala Sitharaman — have also joined the government.

Given party’s long-held one man-one post principle, these organisational leaders joining the government necessitates organisational change at the central and state level.

Party’s state unit chiefs from MP (Narendra Tomar), Assam (Sarbananda Sono-wal), Delhi (Harsh Vardhan) and Chhattisgarh (Vishnu Deo Sai) have joined the government. Though party leaders sought to brush aside the issue,  sources suggested back channel moves will begin anytime now as the potential contenders for these posts will start lobbying.

The sources also highlighted the speculation about J P Nadda who is expected to become the party president.

For all the latest India News, download Indian Express App

    Live Cricket Scores & Results