BJP vs Congress, Centre vs governors

With the NDA govt having indicated it wants governors appointed by the UPA to step down, The Indian Express profiles 15 with a Congress background.

Sheila Dikshit Sheila Dikshit was appointed the Governor of Kerala after she lost to Arvind Kejriwal. (Source: IE archive)
By: Express News Service | New Delhi | Updated: June 19, 2014 9:28 am

With the NDA govt having indicated it wants governors appointed by the UPA to step down, The Indian Express profiles 15 with a Congress background, some of whom have had run-ins with the govt in NDA-ruled states.


Kamla Beniwal, Gujarat
Term ends November 27, 2014
A former Congress minister in Rajasthan, she joined as governor in 2009 and had severaltussles with the then Narendra Modi-led Gujarat government. Beniwal appointed R A Mehta as lokayukta without the cabinet’s clearance, leading to a legal battle. Though the Supreme Court upheld the appointment, Mehta himself opted out. Beniwal has also held up several bills proposed by the government.

H R Bhardwaj, Karnataka
Terms ends June 29, 2014
Due to complete his term in two weeks. He had several run-ins with the previous BJP government. Bhardwaj, a former Congress union minister, took charge as governor shortly after a series of attacks on churches in coastal Karnataka, for which he pulled up the government. In 2011, he sanctioned the prosecution of then CM B S Yeddyurappa in a corruption case. Also rejected a government candidate for lokayukta.

Debananda Konwar, Tripura
Terms ends March 26, 2018
A former Congressman from Assam, once close to Indira Gandhi, and a former state minister who eventually fell out with Hiteswar Saikia and Tarun Gogoi. In his previous posting as governor (Bihar, 2009-2013), he challenged Nitish Kumar’s then NDA government several times. A sore point was Konwar’s allegedly unilateral decision to appoint VCs of eight universities. Transferred to Tripura after relations with the Bihar government soured.

FORMER Congress chief ministers

Sheila Dikshit, Kerala
Term ends March 11, 2019
The former three-term Delhi CM is a veteran of the Congress, a former MP and union minister. Her appointment as Kerala governor, coming months after her defeat to Arvind Kejriwal in the Delhi assembly elections and shortly before the Lok Sabha polls were announced, is seen as a rehabilitation by the Congress.

J B Patnaik, Assam
Term ends December 11, 2014
A former chief minister of Orissa, he had to resign after the Graham Staines murder in 1999. Patnaik has several opponents in the Congress. Patnaik, 86, met President Pranab Mukherjee in New Delhi this week but has denied he had submitted his resignation. He is, in fact, keen to complete his term.

K Rosaiah, Tamil Nadu
Term ends August 31, 2016
A veteran who has spent decades in the Congress, Rosaiah has had an uneventful stint as governor. A former minister in the Y S R Reddy government in Andhra Pradesh, he was made chief minister after YSR’s death but resigned after 10 months to make way for N Kiran Kumar Reddy.

S C Jamir, Orissa
Term ends March 21, 2018
Jamir, 83, five times the chief minister of Nagaland, and who survived three attempts on his life, is known to be a loyalist of the Nehru-Gandhi family. As the governor in a BJD-ruled state, he has has an uneventful …continued »

First Published on: June 19, 2014 1:10 amSingle Page Format
Do you like this story