Saturday, Apr 25, 2015

20 Amethi villages to boycott polls

Written by Mohd Faisal Fareed | Lucknow | Published on:April 5, 2014 2:12 am

Nearly 40,000 villagers in 20 villages of Rahul Gandhi’s parliamentary constituency have given a call to boycott parliamentary elections demanding inclusion in neighbouring Sultanpur district.

The villagers claim they are at a distance of 8-12 km from Sultanpur while they have to travel 27-35 km to reach Gauriganj, the district headquarters of Amethi. “We have to change autorickshaw thrice to reach Gauriganj for work,” Harbhajan Singh, a native of Piparpur village, which has nearly 7,000 voters, said.

“We had held a meeting five days ago when we gave a poll boycott call. From next week, barriers will be erected in all villages to prevent entry of politicians,” he added. The villages include Khanapur, Lahna, Piparpur, Narbhanpur, Durgapur, Raipur and Sonari. The villages are part of Bhadar development block under Amethi tehsil.

The villagers claimed their demand was raised during the Assembly elections in 2012. “I am village pradhan for past 20 years of my village. We will not allow any leader, even Rahul Gandhi, to hold any meeting in our area. We had given several representations to Rahul also,” Anil Singh, village pradhan of Bhagipur village, said. Bhagipur is hardly 15 km from Sultanpur.

Do you like this story