Uttar Pradeh BJP forms coordination panels in each district unit

Written by Lalmani Verma | Lucknow | Published:September 29, 2016 4:28 am

To keep communication channels open between party leaders, the Uttar Pradesh BJP unit on Wednesday formed coordination committees in every district comprising of local MP, MLAs, organisational office bearers and senior workers.

A senior leader told The Indian Express that excluding Varanasi Mahanagar where PM Narendra Modi is the local MP, all other coordination committees have local MPs, including union ministers.

Watch What Else is Making news

Union Minister Smriti Irani, who had unsuccessfully contested Lok Sabha elections against Congress vice-president Rahul Gandhi, has been included in the coordination committee of Amethi indicating that she would be focusing on the district. Amethi is Rahul’s parliamentary constituency.

The 16-member coordination committee of Lucknow Mahanagar includes Union Home Minister Rajnath Singh, party national vice-president Dinesh Sharma, national secretary Mahendra Singh, former MPs Lalji Tandon and Kusum Rai and local MLA Gopal Tandon.

Two BSP MLAs— Rajesh Tripathi of Chillupar in Gorakhpur and Bala Prasad Awasthi of Mohammadi in Lakhimpur district, who recently joined BJP, have been inducted into the coordination committees of their respective districts. Former BSP MP Jugul Kishore is a member of the committee for Lakhimpur Kheri.

The party’s mayors, office bearers in national organisations from UP and state officebearers too have been included in each district coordination committee along with the district in-charge, district president, former district president, former MLAs and at least two senior workers.

“Former district presidents were feeling neglected after they were replaced a few months ago, and the situation was leading to groupism. Now, with the formation of such a committee, they have been given importance. The committee will also bear the responsibility of pacifying those party leaders who would be denied tickets in the upcoming Assembly polls,” said a party leader.


For all the latest India News, download Indian Express App

    Live Cricket Scores & Results