Telangana after the breakup

What the state looks like after its government split its 10 districts into 31.

By: Express News Service | Updated: October 12, 2016 2:56:24 am
chandrashekar CM K Chandrasekhara Rao

Telangana’s 21 new districts came into being Tuesday, with CM K Chandrasekhara Rao and his ministers choosing an auspicious time and date — between 11:13 am and 12:30 pm on Vijaya Dashami — to inaugurate the new districts while changing the boundaries of the 10 existing ones.

What changes

Not all the new districts are within boundaries of old ones. Many overlap two or three states. Two named after existing districts, too, find shares in other erstwhile districts.

Read | From 10 to 31, TRS govt in Telangana sets about adding more and more districts

The big swap

8 districts formed out of the old Mahabubnagar and Ranga Reddy districts in the southwest corner of the state. Two smaller districts are now called Mahabubnagar and Ranga Reddy, both of which overlap the parent states – part of new Mahabubnagar has been carved out of old Ranga Reddy, and vice versa. Vikarabad too has one part in erstwhile Mahabubnagar and one part in erstwhile Ranga Reddy. Of the other four new districts in this chunk, Wanaparthy, Nagarkurnool, Jogulamba are wholly contained in old Mahabubnagar, while Medchal-Malkajgiri and Shamshabad been carved entirely out of old Ranga Reddy.


The long spread

4 other districts overlap a number of earlier districts. Two of these have been carved out of three each along a stretch from old Khammam in the east to old Medak in the west. Jayashankar district has a part each in old Khammam, Karimnagar and Medak. Siddipet has a part each in old Medak, Karimangar and Warangal. Two more districts overlap two erstwhile districts each. Mahbubabad overlaps old Warangal and Khammam. Jangaon overlaps Warangal and Nalgonda.

Within boundaries

18 dilabad are the new Adilabad, Mancherial, Nirmal, Komaram Bheem (Asifabad). Four others are within old Karimnagar – new Karimnagar, Jagtiyal, Pedapalli, Rajanna (Sircilla). Three others are within old Nalgonda – Suryapet, Yadadri and Nalgonda. Warangal Rural has been carved out of Warangal, Kamareddy and new Nizamabad within old Nizamabad, Kothagudem Bhadradri and Khammam are within old Khammam, Sangareddy and new Medak are entirely within old Medak.

telangana, telangana breakup, new telangana, telangana districts, telangana CM, chandrasekhara rao, telangana map, why telangana breakup, indian express news, india news, telangana news Chief Minister K Chandrashekar Rao at Tuesday’s inauguration of Siddipet district, carved out of his home district of Medak. PTI photo

No change

1 district remains as it is – Hyderabad, the capital

Why 31

For easier administration. “I wish that the people benefit more with all the administrative divisions achieving success with the blessings of God, Chief Minister KCR said. He inaugurated the district collectorate of the new district of Siddipet, carved out of his home district of Medak, New district collectors and SPs were posted to the new districts late Monday night. Four new police commissionerates and 91 new police stations were also inaugurated Tuesday.

Then and now

Average population of each district before the split was 36 lakh

Average per district after the split is 11 lakh. Telangana’s population is 36 million.

Average district size is 11,000 sq km, earlier 3,500 sq km

For all the latest India News, download Indian Express App

Share your thoughts