• Associate Sponsor

Punjab 2017 Polls: AAP releases 5th list of candidates

A former DTO, Harbhajan Singh (48) , who has been a political science teacher, has been fielded from Jandiala.

Written by Kanchan Vasdev | Chandigarh | Published: November 18, 2016 4:57 am

THE DAUGHTER of an Akali stalwart, Panth Rattan late Gurcharan Singh Tohra, and a Congress rebel who contested the Khadoor Sahib bypoll when Congress stayed away from the contest after its MLA resigned in protest against the Bargadi desecration are among the 12 candidates of AAP announced in its fifth list Thursday.

Tohra’s daughter Kuldeep Kaur Tohra (63) will contest from Sanaur, a pocket borough of senior vice president of Punjab Congress Lal Singh. Of 12 candidates, nine are Sikhs, three are Hindus and only one is a woman.

Bhupinder Singh Bittu, (50) a confidant of former Punjab Congress president Partap Singh Bajwa, who rebelled against the Congress’s decision to boycott Khadoor Sahib byelection earlier this year, is AAP’s candidate from the predominantly panthic constituency. Bittu, who contested as an Independent, polled 18,000 votes. He joined AAP recently. Khadoor Sahib segment was vacated by the then Congress MLA Ramanjit Singh Sikki to protest against a desecration incident in Bargadi in October last year.

Another former Congress leader, Giriraj Rajora, (59) who contested 2012 elections on Congress ticket from Balluana (reserved) and lost by a narrow margin of over 8,000 votes is AAP’s choice from Balluana. His entry into AAP was facilitated by party MP Bhagwant Mann in July this year. He is a former Resident Commissioner, government of Punjab and former general manager of Punjab Small Industries Corporation (PSIC).

The party has named a Shaurya Chakra winner Capt Bikramjit Singh Pahuwindia (47) as its candidate from the border Khemkaran segment. Another ex-servicemen. Capt Gurbinder Singh Kang (62), a volunteer and farmer and labour wing president of AAP, has been fielded from Bagha Purana.

A former DTO, Harbhajan Singh (48) , who has been a political science teacher, has been fielded from Jandiala.

An ENT specialist, Dr Sanjeev Kumar Sharma, (63) who has been running an NGO, Vision Punjab, is the party’s nominee from Jalandhar (Central), a sitting councillor and president of Mahajan Sabha, Raj Kumar Mahajan (48) has been fielded in Pathankot. With the fifth list of 12 today, AAP has fielded candidates in 91 segments out of 117 already.

For all the latest India News, download Indian Express App

  1. Raju Menon
    Nov 18, 2016 at 12:02 am
    I wish people of Punjab defeat AAP to the existential threat. Arvind Kejriwal is one corrupt politician.
    1. Raajeev Sood
      Nov 18, 2016 at 3:32 am
      Kejriwal entered the politics with a resolution to practice clean politics, to choose candidates after 'rai shumari'of local residents. Now most of the candidates are rejected /disgruntled persons of other polical parties or kith and kin of political leaders of other political parties or of his own party.whatever,happened to selection process.