Meghalaya: Three parties move no-confidence motion against Congress-led government

The opposition parties moved the motion against the government for "failing the citizens completely".

By: PTI | Shillong | Updated: September 12, 2016 6:25 pm

Three opposition parties on Monday moved a no-confidence motion against the Congress-led government in Meghalaya for “failing the citizens completely”.

The motion was moved jointly by opposition parties comprising the United Democratic Party and National People’s Party under the Meghalaya People’s Front and the Hill State People Democratic Party.

Assembly Speaker A T Mondal has accepted the motion and it is likely to come up for discussion on Wednesday, Opposition Chief Whip and NPP legislator James K Sangma said.

“We have decided to move the no-confidence motion because today the general mood of the people of the state is that this government has failed the citizens completely. It has failed in its duty to protect its citizens especially women and children.” he said.

The Opposition had also moved a resolution seeking removal of the Speaker, which would be taken up for discussion on the last day of the session on September 16.