LIVE Rajya Sabha polls: Congress’ Sibal survives cross-voting scare; BJP wins all four seats in Rajasthan

Rajya Sabha election live: Out of 57 Rajya Sabha seats falling vacant, voting took place for only 27 seats.

By: Express Web Desk | New Delhi | Updated: June 11, 2016 11:08 pm

Rajya sabha polls, RS polls, RS election, Rajya sabha election, rajya sabha elections, congress, BJP, kapil sibal, BSP, uttar pradesh, karnataka, haryana, RS poll updates

Senior Congress leader and former union minister Kapil Sibal on Saturday won the Rajya Sabha seat from Uttar Pradesh despite three party MLAs cross-voting in support of an independent candidate backed by the BJP.

All the seven candidates fielded by the Samajwadi Party in Uttar Pradesh also won today.

BJP won all the four Rajya Sabha seats it contested in Rajasthan. Party leaders M Venkaiah Naidu, Om Prakash Mathur, Harshvardhan Singh and Ramkumar Verma were declared winners from the BJP-ruled state. BJP leaders MJ Akbar and Anil Madhav Dave won in Madhya Pradesh.

In Haryana, BJP’s Birender Singh and Zee Media chairman Subhash Chandra, who was supported by the BJP, won amidst high drama. Fourteen votes of the Congress were declared invalid in Haryana.

The Rajya Sabha voting started in Karnataka and Madhya Pradesh on Saturday morning. Seven states went to polls to elect 27 Rajya Sabha members.

These include 11 seats from Uttar Pradesh, four each from Karnataka and Rajasthan, three from Madhya Pradesh, two each from Haryana and Jharkhand and one from Uttarakhand.

Out of 57 Rajya Sabha seats falling vacant, voting took place for only 27 seats Saturday as 30 candidates were declared elected unopposed at the end of withdrawal of nominations on June 3.

Also Read | Rajya Sabha polls today: Mayawati set to add tailwind, propel Congress forward

Prominent among them are Union Ministers – Suresh Prabhu and Piyush Goyal, eminent lawyer Ram Jethmalani, Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) supremo Lalu Prasad’s daughter Misa Bharati and former JD(U) president Sharad Yadav.

Here are the live updates:

9.50 pm: In Haryana, 14 votes of Congress getting rejected is surprising. Doubt that few elements in Govt may have done something wrong: Digvijaya Singh

9.25 pm:

9.00 pm:

8.20 pm:

7.50 pm:

7.20 pm: BJP leader Birender Singh and Zee Media chairman Subhash Chandra win from Haryana amidst high drama.

7.10 pm: Fourteen votes of the Congress were rejected in Haryana.

7.00 pm:

6.56 pm: Congress’s Kapil Sibal wins from Uttar Pradesh.

6.50 pm: BJP’s MJ Akbar and Anil Madhav Dave win from Madhya Pradesh.

6.45 pm: BJP wins both Rajya Sabha seats in Jharkhand. Mukhtar Abbas Naqvi and Mahesh Poddar win.

6.30 pm: All seven candidates of Samajwadi Party win in Uttar Pradesh.

6.05 pm: Congress leader Pradeep Tamta elected to Rajya Sabha from Uttarakhand.

6.02 pm:  BJP candidates M Venkaiah Naidu, Om Prakash Mathur, Harshvardhan Singh and Ramkumar Verma elected to Rajya Sabha from Rajasthan

2.45 pm: BJP MLA Vijay Bahadur Yadav cross-voted in favour of a Samajwadi Party candidate in Uttar Pradesh.

“I voted on the basis of development done by the Chief Minister and I am ready to make any sacrifice,” he said.

1.52 pm: Polling for the lone Rajya Sabha seat from Uttarakhand was held amid tight security at the state Assembly today with Chief Minister Harish Rawat and Speaker Govind Singh Kunjwal among the first to cast their votes.

11.55 am: A verbal spat broke out between SP MLA Hazi Zamerullah Khan and BJP MLA Raghunandan Singh Badauriya during RS polls, Lucknow.

11.49 am: SP MLAs are goons who are openly not letting us cast our vote, they have been exposed: Krishna Paswan, BJP

11.05 am: In Uttar Pradesh, where elections are being held in 11 seats, interest is centered around a fight between former union minister Kapil Sibal and BJP-backed independent socialite Preeti Mahapatra.

10.00 am: Rajya Sabha polls for two Haryana seats begins. The Haryana Assembly has 90 members and polling will be held between 9 am to 4 pm today.

9.30 am: Polling for four Rajya Sabha seats in Rajasthan begins. Leader of opposition Rameshwar Dusi cast the first vote followed by former chief minister Ashok Gehlot, the assembly spokesperson said.

9.15 am: Two BJP candidates – senior journalist MJ Akbar, senior party leader Anil Dave and Congress nominee Vivek Tankha are contesting from Madhya Pradesh. MLA Ramniwas Rawat cast the first ballot at the State legislative assembly.

9.00 am: Rajya Sabha polling begins in Karnataka and Madhya Pradesh

 (With ANI & PTI inputs)

For all the latest India News, download Indian Express App

  1. H
    Jun 11, 2016 at 5:04 pm
    Really sad day for India, as the man who defends Con Party in all scams, who declared there was "zero loss" in the world's largest 2G scandal, has managed to enter Parliament, despite rejected by people in the lok sabha elections.
    1. Harry Achari
      Jun 11, 2016 at 4:42 pm
      How much did you get from true goddes Sonia. You better convince your or your families with this fake stories. We know what is going on in the country
      1. M
        Jun 11, 2016 at 9:32 pm
        Well done BJP--CONGIE mukht bharat is clearly visible and is now becoming a reality,---all CONGIE supporters accept this as a blessing in disguise.
        1. S
          Jun 11, 2016 at 4:41 pm
          are raga and italian maid phds.
          1. S
            Syama uppuluri
            Jun 11, 2016 at 4:31 pm
            Although I am not supporting Mr. Swamy, can you please explain the suitability of the successful AIADMK and DMK members of Lok Sabha.
            1. Load More Comments