Government may name Raghuram Rajan’s successor after PM Modi’s Africa tour

Rajan's three-year term will come to an end on September 4, as he last month announced that he would return to academia and not seek a second term.

By: PTI | New Delhi | Published: July 5, 2016 5:42 pm
Raghuram Rajan, Raghuram Rajan exit, Narendra Modi, Modi, PM Modi, RBI, Rajan successor, Modi visit, Modi Africa, Rajan successor RBI, news, latest news, national news, India news, Modi visit Africa, Africa Modi, India Africa, Africa India, Subir Gokarn, Rakesh Mohan, International Monetary Fund, Arundhati Bhattacharya, Shaktikanta Das,  Arvind Subramanian, BJP MP Subramanian Swamy, Subramanian Swamy, BJP Rajan The successor tp RBI Governor Raghuram Rajan (right) will be announced after Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s (left) four-nation tour to Africa. (Express archives)

Government is likely to announce successor to Raghuram Rajan, the outgoing governor of RBI, after Prime Minister Narendra Modi returns from his five-day, four nation tour of Africa, a top official said on Tuesday.

“A new governor will be named after Prime Minister returns from his Africa tour on July 11,” the official said.

Rajan’s three-year term will come to an end on September 4, as he last month announced that he would return to academia and not seek a second term.

Top contenders for the post are former deputy governors of the Reserve Bank of India Subir Gokarn and Rakesh Mohan. Gokarn is an Executive Director at the International Monetary Fund, a post previously held by Mohan.

Share This Article
Related Article

Watch Video: What’s making news

Others who are said to be in the fray for job include SBI chief Arundhati Bhattacharya and Economic Affairs Secretary Shaktikanta Das.

Government’s Chief Economic Adviser Arvind Subramanian and the RBI’s current Deputy Governor Urjit Patel are also considered to be in reckoning.

Incidentally, Patel got a three-year extension as RBI Deputy Governor in January.

Traditionally, Prime Minister picks the RBI Governor after consultation with the finance minister. The same process is likely to be followed this time around with Modi choosing Rajan’s successor after consulting Arun Jaitley.

Sources said once a new governor is named, he will become an Officer on Special Duty (OSD) in the central bank to allow smooth transition.

Rajan, who will have the shortest tenure as RBI Governor since liberilsation began in 1991, decided not to seek a second term after unbridled political attacks on him was led by BJP MP Subramanian Swamy.

All RBI Governors in past 23 years have got second term – from Dr C Rangarajan (1992-97), Bimal Jalan (1997-03), YV Reddy (2003-08) to D Subbarao (2003-08). Rajan will break that chain.

For all the latest India News, download Indian Express App

  1. No Comments.