Decision 2016: Polls to 4 Lok Sabha, 8 Assembly seats on November 19

The counting has been scheduled for November 22.

By: Express News Service | New Delhi | Updated: October 18, 2016 5:31:53 am

The elections that has been scheduled for November 19, will be held in 4 Lok Sabha seats and 8 Assembly seats. The four Lok Sabha seats are- Lakhimpur (Assam), Shahdol (Madhya Pradesh), Cooch Behar (West Bengal) and Tamluk (West Bengal). Aravakurichi & Thanjavur (Tamil Nadu), Tiruparankundram (Tamil Nadu), Nellithope (Puducherry), Baithalangso (Assam), Hayuliang (Arunachal), Nepanagar (Madhya Pradesh), Barjala (Tripura) and Khowai (Tripura)- are the eight Assembly seats. The counting has been scheduled for November 22.


Lakhimpur, Assam

Why bypoll: BJP MP Sarbananda Sonowal relinquished seat after becoming Assam CM

2014 :BJP 55%; Congress 29%; Others 16%

Shahdol, MP

Why bypoll: Death of Dalpat Singh Paraste, BJP MP

2014: BJP 54%; Cong 29%; Others 16%

Cooch Behar, West Bengal

Why bypoll: Death of Renuka Sinha, Trinamool MP

2014: Trinamool 40%; Forward Bloc 33%; Others 27%

Tamluk, West Bengal

Why bypoll: TMC MP Suvendu Adhikari relinquished seat to become MoS in Bengal

2014: TMC 54%; CPM 35%; Others 11%

Aravakurichi & Thanjavur, Tamil Nadu

Why polls: Elections were pending in these two seats since May, when the rest of the state voted. Following complaints and evidences that political parties had been distributing cash to voters, the Election Commission initially postponed the polls from May 16 to May 23. Later, it postponed them again observing that free and fair elections could not be ensured in the wake of similar complaints even after the first postponement.
2011: DMK won Aravakurichi, AIADMK won Thanjavur

Tiruparankundram, Tamil Nadu

Why bypoll: S M Seenivel, AIADMK winner, died before taking oath

Nellithope, Puducherry

Why bypoll: To allow CM V Narayanasamy to enter the assembly; Congress MLA A John Kumar has quit

Baithalangso, Assam

Why bypoll: Mansing Rongpi, Congress MLA, resigned and joined BJP

Hayuliang, Arunachal

Why bypoll: Death of Kalikho Pul, former CM, Congress

Nepanagar, MP

Why bypoll: Death of Rajendra Shyamlal Dadu, BJP MLA

Barjala, Tripura

Why bypoll: Jitendra Sarkar, Congress MLA, resigned and joined CPM

Khowai, Tripura

Why bypoll: Death of Samir Debsarkar, CPM MLA

Notification: October 26

Bypolls: November 19

Counting: November 22

For all the latest India News, download Indian Express App

Share your thoughts