Kerala polls: Senior leaders figure in BJP’s list of 22 probable candidates     

Aiming to make its presence felt in the bi-polar polity of Kerala, BJP had sewed by an alliance with the Bharath Dharma Jana Sena.

Written by Shaju Philip | Thiruvananthapuram | Updated: March 18, 2016 11:47 am
Kerala elections, Kerala elections 2016, Kerala elections 2016 predictions, Kerala elections 2016 bjp, Bjp kerala, kerala bjp, Kerala elections 2016 date, kerala news, india news BJP state president Kummanam Rajasekharan (right) with Thawar Chand Gehlot, Union Minister for Social Justice and Empowerment. (File/PTI Photo)

The BJP on Sunday decided to field all senior leaders of the party for the Assembly elections in Kerala. The party announced candidates for 22 out of 140 constituencies even as discussions on seat sharing with NDA ally Bharat Dharma Jana Sena (BDJS) are yet to be over.

While BJP state President Kummanam Rajasekharan will be making his electoral debut from Vattiyoorkavu in Thiruvananthapuram, former Union minister O Rajagopal will try his luck from Nemom constituency in Thiruvananthapuram district, where he had finished second in the last Assembly elections.

Some of the other names which figure in the list are: K Surendran (Manjeshwaram), Shobha Surendran (Palakkad), C K Padmanabhan (Kunnamangalam), P K Sureedharan Pillai (Chengannur), M T Ramesh (Aranmula), V Muralidharan (Kazhakootam) and P K Krishnadas (Kattakada).

Rajagopal has never won any elections, but has been BJP’s trump card in all recent contests, including last year’s by-election in Aruvikkara assembly constituency.

Aiming to make its presence felt in the bi-polar polity of Kerala, the BJP had sewed by an alliance with the Bharath Dharma Jana Sena (BDJS), a new party formed by Sree Narayana Dharma Paripalana (SNDP) Yogam, a powerful organisation of backward Ezhava community, led by its General Secretary Vellappally Natesan.

The party, which has already begun seat sharing talks with BDJS, will again hold discussions on March 15, before giving a final shape to the candidates list.

Rajasekharan told reporters that on March 16, the state leaders will be leaving for Delhi for getting the clearance of the central election committee for its candidates list.

BJP, which has not yet won a single seat either to Parliament or the state assembly from Kerala, is hoping to give a tough fight to the two fronts– ruling Congress-led UDF and LDF spearheaded by CPI-M, which have ruled the state alternatively.

(With inputs from PTI)

For all the latest India News, download Indian Express App

  1. S
    Mar 14, 2016 at 3:19 am
    Maniyanji...dont go to answer ic statements...
    1. M
      Mar 14, 2016 at 12:31 pm
      First time there is 3rd front people of kerala. People saw attacks on RSS- BJP leaders of Communists In state for stop of gain Of BJP in state. Congress and LEFT front make people fool in state. They are in allianced in bengal and opposition in kerala.
      1. A
        ARUN BABU
        Mar 14, 2016 at 7:59 am
        NDA front will get atleast 5 seats. This gain make kerala politics more powerful. we deserves a 3rd front in kerala. rajettan,tusharji, pc thomas,noble mathew,rajan babu zindabad
        1. S
          Shafted mohammed
          Mar 13, 2016 at 3:26 pm
          stan supported terrorists rule Kerala and most of the people in Kerala are brainless and they cannot think beyond congress and communists. BJP has no chance with such brainless so called most educated crowd.
          1. S
            Mar 17, 2016 at 7:17 am
            1. Load More Comments