Anand Sharma files nomination for RS election from Himachal

Sharma said, “It's a great honour for me to represent Himachal Pradesh for the third-time. I am thankful to Congress president Sonia Gandhi for her trust and faith.”

Written by Ashwani Sharma | Shimla | Updated: March 9, 2016 6:58 pm
Anand Sharma, Anand Sharma resignation, Rajya Sabha, Himachal Pradesh, Anand Sharma congress, congress, india news Senior Congress leader Anand Sharma with Assistant Editor Manoj C G at The Indian Express office. (Source: Express Photo by Ravi Kanojia)

Congress leader, Anand Sharma, on Wednesday filed his nomination for the lone Rajya Sabha seat in his home state, Himachal Pradesh.

Sharma, the Deputy leader of Congress in the Rajya Sabha had resigned from the Upper House on Monday to contest the Rajya Sabha election from the seat, which will fall vacant after BJP member Bimla Kashyap’s term expires on April 2.

Flanked by Chief Minister Virbhadra Singh and PCC president Sukhwinder Singh Sukhu, Sharma said, “It’s a great honour for me to represent Himachal Pradesh for the third-time. I am thankful to Congress president Sonia Gandhi for her trust and faith.”

Share This Article
Related Article

“I am going to take-up, very effectively, the issue of air connectivity with Shimla. Why is there no flight for Shimla for past over three years? Himachal Pradesh would be treated at par with North-East and Jammu and Kashmir for reduced air tariffs and regular connectivity. Issue of expansion of railway network will also be raised with the NDA government,” he told mediapersons.

Earlier Sharma was elected to Rajya Sabha in 2014 from Rajasthan. Now he has been nominated by Congress high command to contest from Himachal Pradesh.

The Congress deputy leader was a cabinet minister in Manmohan Singh government and later became the deputy leader of the party in Rajya Sabha after the UPA government was ousted in 2014.

For all the latest India News, download Indian Express App

  1. S
    Mar 10, 2016 at 3:40 am
    Of course join the club of losers. Any politician who cannot make it to Loksaba makes to rajya saba. Mr. Sharma if you had any dignity which you don't anyway would have come back to Lok saba. Anyway Sonia ji did this favor and go and clean the kitchen next time.hen
    1. P
      Mar 12, 2016 at 12:12 pm
      Another opportunity for licking hi's ..... You guys need to think of freedom; freedom from hi's slavery.
      1. M
        madan gupta
        Mar 10, 2016 at 4:05 am
        शरद यादव चुनाव हारते ही फोरन राज्य सभा चला गया. शरद, लालू, नितेश, मुलायम, माया, ममता, केजरीवाल, बादल, पासवान , जय ललिता आदि का संसद और राज्य सभा पर राज है. यह जब चाहें चुनाव हारने के बाद राज्य सभा या परिषद में जा सकते हैं. अब अनपढ़ रबड़ी और बेटी मिसा राज्य सभा में जाएँ गीं . दो बेटे पहले मंत्री हैं. भारत महान है, लालू आधी जेल काट चूका है, अपराधी होते हुए भी पूरी सिक्यूरिटी मिली हुई है. ऐसे आज़ादी से तो गुलामी अच्छी है.
        1. R
          Mar 9, 2016 at 8:55 pm
          No wonder he continues to shine Rauls shoes and throws shoes at nationalists! Miano family is expert in buying jaychands and cultivating them.
          1. S
            shapoor bomanjee
            Mar 9, 2016 at 1:59 pm
            Do not vote for such people who stop parliment from functioning. See that they are removed from India's political stage once and for all.
            1. Load More Comments