AMU Students’ Union Polls: In a first, 3 girls elected to top students’ body

Faizul Hasan, a doctoral student in the AMU’s department of sociology, was declared the new AMUSU President.

By: Express News Service | Agra | Published: October 10, 2016 2:14:26 am
Aligarh Muslim University, AMU Students’ Union Polls, AMUSU, Faizul Hasan, indian express news, india news, amu news Aligarh Muslim University.

For The first time, three female students were elected to the cabinet of the Aligarh Muslim University Students’ Union (AMUSU), the results for which were declared Sunday.

Faizul Hasan, a doctoral student in the AMU’s department of sociology, was declared the new AMUSU President.

Labiba Sherwani, Sadaf Rasool and Ghazala Ahmad, three female students, were elected as AMUSU cabinet members.

Others elected to the cabinet included Waseel K, Abdul Wasay, Naved Ahmad, Irfan Ali, Asif Idrees, Mohd Naved Siddiqui and Amanullah.

Twenty-three candidates were in the fray for ten cabinet seats.

“This is the first time when three female students managed to get a place in AMU Students’ Union cabinet,” said Rahat Abrar, an AMU official.

While Hasan was elected president, MSW (masters in social work) student, Nadeem Ansari, was elected as vice president. Nabeel Usmani, a student in the faculty of management, was elected secretary.

Five candidates were in fray for the post of president’s post, while there were five each for the posts of vice-president and honorary secretary.
Around 70.46 per cent students voted for various students’ union positions and also for the election of student representatives from 11 faculties on the university’s apex body, the AMU Court.

In the Women’s College Students’ Union election, Nagma Sharif was elected as the president, Farheen Sherwani was elected as the vice president and Utba Israr Sheikh was elected as the honorary secretary.

Humaira Khan, Ilma Hasan, Insha Khan, Rabia Umar, Sara Dilshad, Sonam, Falak Naaz and Ufraq Shahid were elected for the cabinet positions of the Women’s College Students’ Union.

AMU Vice-Chancellor Lt General Zameeruddin Shah congratulated the student community for conducting the election in a ‘peaceful’ manner.

For all the latest India News, download Indian Express App

Share your thoughts