• Associate Sponsor

Chitrakoot election results 2017: Congress retains seat, says voters want change

The Chitrakoot bypoll, which was necessitated following the death of Congress MLA Prem Singh, saw around 65 per cent voting on November 9.

Written by Milind Ghatwai | Bhopal | Updated: November 13, 2017 10:59 am
chitrakoot bypoll, chitrakoot bypoll results, chitrakoot bypoll by election results, chitrakoot bypoll assembly results, chitrakoot bypoll results 2017, chitrakoot by election results 2017, india news Bhopal : Madhya Pradesh Congress party workers celebrate the party’s victory in Chitrakoot by-elections, at party headquarters in Bhopal on Sunday. PTI Photo

The Congress on Sunday retained the Chitrakoot assembly constituency, with the party candidate winning by over 14,000 votes in the bye-election.

Congress candidate Nilanshid Chaturvedi established a firm, early lead over his nearest rival, BJP’s Shankar Dayal Tripathi when counting began today morning. Nilanshu Chaturvedi got 68,810 votes while Shankar Dayal Tripathi got 52,677 votes in the crucial bye-election.

The bypoll, which was necessitated following the death of Congress MLA Prem Singh, saw around 65 per cent voting on November 9. In the last 20 years, the Congress had only lost the seat just once in 2008, when BJP’s Surendra Singh Gaharwar defeated Singh by a slender margin of 722.

Read | Chitrakoot bypoll: BJP’s defeat shows people are angry, says Akhilesh Yadav. Click here

The ruling party tried to find solace in the fact that Chitrakoot has been a traditional stronghold of the Congress.  However, BJP leaders and chief minister Shivraj Singh Chouhan campaigned extensively in the bye-election.

Earlier, before the results were declared, BJP MP from Khandwa, Nand Kumar, told news agency ANI: “The counting till now shows that the seat will go to Congress, but what happens here does not denote the mood of the state.”

For all the latest India News, download Indian Express App

  1. P
    Nov 13, 2017 at 4:49 pm
    No Big deal Congress increase the tally by hardly 5000 votes eve n after sympathy votes
    1. S
      Nov 13, 2017 at 10:57 am
      So retaining a seat which was with congress for decades is great victory for congress? Did they expected to loose even this seat to BJP? So, now in 2019 if congress repeats its great performance of 44 seats in Lok Sabha, it will be considered as great victory because BJP didnt snatch those 44 seats? At least it will snatch two sats in UP that is for sure and pappu has to enter RS throw Punjab if Capt Amreender Singh still stays with congress! That is big if because Capt Singh is known as nationalist in many kashmir/military related issues, at loggerheads with corrupt congies!
      1. S
        Nov 13, 2017 at 5:33 am
        In MP both state and centre govt are BJP and Gong wins. Can we see that in TAmil Nadu? In TN people take money and vote.Hence always ruling party wins. We will get what we deserve. So-called Tamil pride is false and TN people are worst.
        1. S
          Sujatha Selvam
          Nov 13, 2017 at 12:17 am
          Prime Minister Narendra Modi and his advisers, namely Amit Shah and Arun Jaitley are the main culprit for bring devastating economic catastrophe in the country. They have been fooling the people again and again. The people are suffering and their economic conditions are worsening. But, BJP, nay read MODI, AMIT SHAH and Arun Jaitley, think that they can still fool the people. Only peoples' power will teach them a lesson. They came to power with media support and opposition disunity but now the situation is entirely changed, BJP will face bitter defeats soon. This is written on the wall everywhere.
          1. V
            Nov 12, 2017 at 8:19 pm
            In 2013 Bsp got 22000 votes and Cong won by10000 votes. This time Cong got 13000, BjP 9000 out of these and now the margin is 14000 votes.
            1. Load More Comments