Grand Alliance seat-sharing: All is well, Nitish Kumar concedes Raghopur to Lalu Prasad’s son

There was not much of a hitch in the seat sharing as it was natural for the JD (U) to give tickets to most of its sitting MLAs.

Written by Santosh Singh | Patna | Updated: October 7, 2016 5:03 pm
Lalu prasad, Nitish Kumar, Bihar, Bihar polls, bihar elections, bihar assembly elections, bihar elections 2015, RJD, JDU, AIMPLB, RJD Chief, NDA, BJP, SP, Congress, Bihar latest news, India news RJD chief Lalu Yadav with Bihar Chief Minister Nitish Kumar.

So Nitish Kumar and Lalu Prasad are done with seat-sharing – along  predictable lines, keeping in view the social composition of the state.

On paper, the JD (U) has conceded 27 of its seats to the RJD and 13 to the Congress. However, in practical terms, Nitish Kumar is not a loser at all. After former CM Jitan Ram Manjhi had taken away 19 JD (U) legislators, Nitish was left with 97 MLAs of which at least a dozen sitting MLAs did not fit the bill in the changed political equations and the new political alliances.

There was not much of a hitch in the seat sharing as it was natural for the JD (U) to give tickets to most of its sitting MLAs. The RJD which had won only 22 seats in the last Assembly elections, has got the maximum number of seats in areas of Yadav dominance.

The Congress which has got tickets for its sitting MLAs, however, lives with apprehensions of both the RJD and the JD (U) accommodating some of their rebels with a Congress symbol. If the Congress can ward off its alliance partners’ “designs”, the grand old party should be happy with its position.

One interesting seat sharing agreement: the JD (U) which had won the Raghopur seat — defeating Rabri Devi in the last polls– had to concede the traditional RJD citadel for Lalu’s son Tejashwi Prasad Yadav. The BJP has taken no time in accepting the JD (U) Raghopur MLA, Satish Kumar Yadav into its fold and pit him against Tejashwi. The RJD also conceded three of its seats to the JD (U).

JD (U) sources said that each seat was discussed on the basis on social composition despite all the brouhaha over the development plank.

For all the latest Explained News, download Indian Express App

  1. A
    Oct 10, 2015 at 6:30 pm
    Nitish conceded defeat the day he was made to accept equal share of seats between JDU and RJD, in turn to get his CM candidature of alliance. Just imagine, will Lalu allow Nitish to take policy decisions, in the event his alliance wins ? Nitish was the best leader for Bihar, but he lost by siding with Lalu. People will not accept this alliance.
    1. P
      Sep 21, 2015 at 7:36 pm
      Both Lalu and Nitish are experience politicians. They will stop of the advance of RSS in India.
      1. T
        Sep 21, 2015 at 11:37 pm
        Tejashwi should lose his deposit. It is time to kick out dynasty from indian politics.
        1. H
          Sep 24, 2015 at 11:22 am
          Bihar will never progress if people are not alert and save their future. The trio of Congress- RJD -JD(U) are ruling since last 50 years but Bihar is remain poor and backward since all three parties provided corrupt and bad governance. So people should vote to BJP for better future by defeating Congress, regional and smaller parties which is run by individual for self development & dynastic politics with sole objective to install their son on top post. So people should reject all parties except BJP but it is duty of BJP to curb rampant corruption prevailing in state and all corrupts are put behind bars. BJP must win confidence of people by selecting qualified, honest and able candidates who can fulfill aspirations of people.
          1. Moti Chand Das
            Sep 21, 2015 at 7:31 pm
            How Long this same photograph will go on continuing ?
            1. Load More Comments