Zulfiqar movie review: The fault, dear Srijit, is not in your stars, but in your story telling

Zulfiqar movie review: Zulfiqar could have saved itself from becoming a complete disaster had it not thought of doling out mediocrity.

Rating: 2 out of 5
Written by Samarpita Das | New Delhi | Updated: October 8, 2016 4:33 pm
Zulfiqar movie review, Zulfiqar review, Zulfiqar, Zulfiqar movie, Zulfiqar, Srijit Mukherji, Srijit Mukherji film, Srijit Mukherji Zulfiqar, Prosenjit Chatterjee, Kaushik Sen, Prosenjit Chatterjee film, Jisshu Sengupta, Zulfiqar rating, Rahul Banerjee, Zulfiqar Parambrata Chatterjee, Zulfiqar jisshu, Zulfiqar film, Zulfiqar cast, Zulfiqar release, Zulfiqar debut film, entertainment news, indian express, indian express Zulfiqar review, indian express news Zulfiqar movie review: Srijit Mukherjee introduces us to the system of black marketing in the ports of Kolkata.

Director: Srijit Mukherji
Cast: Prosenjit Chatterjee,Dev,Jisshu Sengupta,Parambrata Chatterjee,Kaushik Sen,Ankush Hazra,Rahul Banerjee

 

With popular Bengali stars like Prosenjit Chatterjee, Parambrata Chatterjee, Kaushik Sen and Dev, Zulfiqar opens with a convincing introduction. Srijit Mukherji introduces us to the system of black marketing in the ports of Kolkata. Following the Shakespearean adaptation of Julius Ceasar and Anthony and Cleopatra, the film portrays the story of Zulfiqar Ahmed, the prominent leader of The Syndicate (a powerful organisation which looks after the happenings in the heart of the city).

The organisation The Syndicate is much like a pack of wolves who work together. Every time they see the rise of a lion within their members, his or her wings are chopped off. Baseer Khan (Brutus), is a nationalist and a gangster who does not support terrorism. Planting false evidence, Kashinath Kundu (Cassius) manages to convince Baseer that Zulfiqar was the real mastermind behind letting LeT terrorists inside the premises Bengal.

The film could have told a good story of brotherhood, hatred, love, friendship, betrayal and rise and fall of the members of Syndicate but somehow, the fake accents, the inclusion of love songs and the melodrama spoils most of the film. The usage of sexual innuendos was not even witty but plain and simple loathful. Towards the end, I was almost convinced that I was watching a Bengali crime drama adapted from a random Hindi film rather than an adaptation of Shakespeare.

Watch Zulfiqar trailer here

 

It was impossible to believe this came from the same director who once treated us to Autograph, Jaatishwar and Chotuskone. Had they called it just another Bengali crime drama instead of a Shakespearean adaptation, it would probably have been less disappointing.

Zulfiqar could have saved itself from becoming a complete disaster had it not thought of doling out to mediocrity.

For all the latest Entertainment News, download Indian Express App now

  1. A
    Arif
    Jan 26, 2017 at 7:19 pm
    Post your opinion...Super movie
    Reply
    1. S
      sambit
      Jan 23, 2017 at 12:25 pm
      It is really surprising to believe that Tollywood, and especially from directors like Srijit, is still following the Bollywood style of action movies. After a careful thought, I must say that this Zulfiqar should feature in the top 10 worst Bengali movies produced in the recent time. Mr. Srijit, does it take a lot of effort to learn something from Hollywood movies in the 40s-50s, and apply it for a Bengali movie which is fast paced but does not defy our logic.
      Reply
      1. R
        Ratnaboli Bose
        Jan 26, 2017 at 6:58 pm
        I think the film and the dramatis personae deserved a better review than has been given here. Of course the dialogues and the "love songs" so to speak may have been questionable choices, but having studied Julius Caesar I can safely say that the narrative does blend into itself important plot points. Instead of being so harsh one must see and feel there is a lot of heart that has gone into the removal of the dross and inclusion of pertinent and broad strokes. In my informed opinion, I would say inspite of what common reviews say this will be remebered in bengali cinema over time.
        Reply
        1. A
          Anindita Ghosal
          Oct 18, 2016 at 3:38 pm
          This is the worst adaptation of both Shakespeare and Puzo's Godfather. These r three different stories and u just can't blend each one in just one story . We have seen better adaptation of Shakespeare in Vishal Bhardwaj Om kara, Makbool and Haider. Every body speaks in a fake bengali influnced Hindi. Dev as always looks blank and expressionless . I must say who ever said that the acting is superb must b an insane who has no knowledge of wat a good movie and good acting is. This movie is an utter nonsense. I had to come out of the hall half way through.
          Reply
          1. T
            Tapas
            Oct 11, 2016 at 3:06 am
            Sri .. eta apni ki korlen . It is a production out of total frustration .lt;br/gt;Khub kharab movie. Cinema ta dekhe mono holo time and money dutoi nosto. Ekta total negative movie.golpo atAntya abinasta .lt;br/gt;Public high road er opr ebhave high speed biking dekhano ekdom thik hoi ni. Ete yobo samajaj aro bigrobe. Cinemai ebhave suicide dekhanor ki projon chilo . E chabir cencorship certificate deoa thik hoi ni. lt;br/gt;Srijit .. u r lost . lt;br/gt;Chi .. chi ...
            Reply
            1. N
              Niladri
              Oct 11, 2016 at 5:18 pm
              This is not cricket.lt;br/gt;Not at all a good review.lt;br/gt;I think Samarpita, you lost in your own expectation. This is a adaptation not only from shakespeare's 2 play but also from puzo's Godfather and Srijit weaved all the 3 in a very very good manner. As a director he has taken a very big risk, and it is for a different type of movie. lt;br/gt;Such a blunt review without any specific good /bad is not at all expected from such news paper. Even you have not listen to a single song to make the childish comments like " Inclusion of love songs" imo All the songs are tragic and blend very well with teh moment. lt;br/gt;Not a single sentence on brilliant acting, very good cinematography, splendor editing or background music.lt;br/gt;I am not a fanboy but not a hater also. The movie is more than average and should have a 3.5 to 4 star imo.
              Reply
              1. D
                Dibyajyoti
                Oct 8, 2016 at 5:44 pm
                I think the reviewer should go back and read the Shakespearean plays concerned first from a book, rather than wikipedia and then watch the film again. Srijit has pulled off a great contemporary version of the plays, being true to the main story and even certain scenes and dialogues have been translated directly from the text. I beg to differ with your point of view. It is not a mediocre adaptation at all !
                Reply
                1. S
                  sandip dasgupta
                  Oct 10, 2016 at 5:07 pm
                  By my training, I am a senior specialist in the IT industry with several years experience. I have read both Julius Caesar, as an ICSE student and Antony and Cleopatra in original because of the love inculcated by my English teacher in school. Srijit's adaptaion of Julius Caesar and Antony and Cleopatra is childish and over melodramatic. It seems more like an "ma," Hindi movie. This isn't Srijit Mukherjee's best or rank with his best movies. I did not like the movie much.
                  Reply
                  1. Load More Comments