The Ghazi Attack movie review: India’s first underwater film drowns under its weight

The Ghazi Attack movie review: Rana Daggubati and Kay Kay Menon film could have been an engrossing crisis-at-sea drama but the film is so busy slaying Pakistanis that it loses sight of its core strengths.

Rating: 1.5 out of 5
Written by Shalini Langer | New Delhi | Updated: February 16, 2017 2:31 pm
The Ghazi Attack movie review: The clash between Rana Daggubati and Kay Kay Menon forms the central conflict of Ghazi Attack. The Ghazi Attack movie review: The clash between Rana Daggubati and Kay Kay Menon forms the central conflict of Ghazi Attack.

The Ghazi Attack movie cast: Rana Daggubati, Taapsee Pannu, Kay Kay Menon, Atul Kulkarni, Rahul Singh, Om Puri
The Ghazi Attack movie Director: Sankalp Reddy
The Ghazi Attack movie rating: 1.5 stars

“ALL people associated with this film are law-abiding citizens.” Yes, films have come to that now. The Ghazi Attack starts with this disclaimer, before going on to declare that its intention is not to outrage or offend anybody, that it doesn’t in any manner support the expressions used by its characters, and that it makes no claim to historical accuracy.

Pakistan must be relieved.

Among other things, the film’s lead protagonists make fun of, and then decide to ignore, higher-ups over decisions such as attacking enemy ships that could start a war. “Really, you are that kind of a soldier?” scorns Capt Rann Vijay Singh (Menon, hamming to his heart’s content), advocating a response instead that would gladden many a Trump heart.

The words “surgical strike” don’t get mentioned, but that may only be because, as the promotions point out, this is India’s first underwater war film. Borders are harder to tell on sand, even as Indian and Pakistani submarines indulge in quite a death dance — bobbing up and down sea depths.

Also read | Ghazi movie review: Rana Daggubati & co come up with a perfect torpedo

At the centre of the story lies the mysterious sinking of Pakistani submarine PNS Ghazi during the 1971 war. The film projects it as an INS Rajput vs PNS Ghazi submarine battle — which is disputed — and calls it an Indo-Pak war you don’t know about.

There are stories within stories, and so there is the aggressive Capt Singh, the pragmatic officer Arjun (an impressive Rana Daggubati), Singh’s loyal second-in-command Devaraj (Atul Kulkarni) and two measly Bangladeshi refugees (including Taapsee Pannu) plucked from the sea by the brave Arjun himself.

 

The Ghazi Attack review, The Ghazi Attack Movie review, The Ghazi Attack movie, The Ghazi Attack release, rana daggubati, taapsee pannu, Kay Kay Menon The Ghazi Attack Movie review: The Ghazi Attack cast also includes Taapsee Pannu.

While Singh and Arjun are playing out their power games, with Singh repeatedly mocking Arjun and his “political masters (including Om Puri, as the head of the Eastern Naval Command)”, PNS Ghazi is quietly making its way to the Bay of Bengal. The Navy gets a clue about Pakistan’s designs, and sends in S-21 (INS Rajput) submarine to “just keep a watch”. Which Singh — toting ‘War As I Knew It’ by American General George S Patton — dismisses as stupid, for brave soldiers must attack on sight.

Clearly, some amount of effort has gone into understanding the makings of a submarine, running of a ship, and even firing of torpedoes and laying of landmines at sea. The film doesn’t cut corners on underwater shots of ships damaged, leaking, hissing and sputtering as they turn leeward and starboard, even though the first shot of Singh and Arjun first heading out to sea is Titanically fake. At the same, all Naval soldiers are unshaven, unkempt, and sweat at the possibility of going food-less for a day. A snarling Rahul Singh plays Pakistani captain Razzaq with as much dishevelled splendour.

You know how a film that strategically deploys — literally — Jana Gana Mana, Saare Jahan Se Achcha and the Tricolour will end. But for a while, The Ghazi Attack shows us glimpses of a crisis-at-sea film it could have been.

However, there are too many Pakistanis to slay, and too many torpedoes to fire, to care for niceties. In all, eight-odd are fired, two-odd hit. What happened to the other six? Who is counting?

 

For all the latest Entertainment News, download Indian Express App now

  1. F
    FUCK YOU INDIAN EXPRESS!
    Apr 11, 2017 at 5:59 pm
    INDIAN EXPRESS KI MAA KEE CH T! PAGAL BANA RAHE HO KYA HUMKO? YEH FILM ACCHA NAHI HAIN TOH KYA BEFIKRE ACCHA HAIN? HUMSHAKALS ACCHA HAIN? KE BACCHE! PAAP LAGEGA TUM LOGO KO!
    Reply
    1. F
      FUCK YOU INDIAN EXPRESS!
      Apr 11, 2017 at 5:59 pm
      STOP FAAKING MODIFYING MY FAAKING COMMENTS! MADARFAAKARS!
      Reply
      1. F
        FUCK YOU INDIAN EXPRESS!
        Apr 11, 2017 at 5:57 pm
        INDIAN EXPRESS KI ! PAGAL BANA RAHE HO KYA HUMKO? YEH FILM ACCHA NAHI HAIN TOH KYA BEFIKRE ACCHA HAIN? HUMSHAKALS ACCHA HAIN? KE BACCHE! PAAP LAGEGA TUM LOGO KO!
        Reply
        1. F
          FUCK YOU INDIAN EXPRESS!
          Apr 11, 2017 at 5:56 pm
          INDIANEXPRESS IS ED . YOU DIE !
          Reply
          1. S
            shubham saurabh
            Feb 16, 2017 at 1:12 pm
            when you are gonna set ur mind to some hollywood type high octane war at sea film then this happens .
            Reply
            1. A
              Abhay
              Feb 19, 2017 at 10:56 pm
              I would not have written this review but whosoever has written the review has forced me. I would have almost skipped this movie by reading the review. I think Indian express reviewer has either not watched the movie or was in hurry to write review. We should not be comparing this movie to a Hollywood one but I think we could easily give this a 3 star.
              Reply
              1. R
                Raghu
                Feb 20, 2017 at 3:45 am
                Clearly the reviewer has not seen the movie!!lt;br/gt;lt;br/gt;A well made movie that needs to be appreciated
                Reply
                1. V
                  Victor
                  Feb 24, 2017 at 1:55 am
                  I agree with Abhimanyu.. it is a very good movie .. shame of this news site for posting such a review.
                  Reply
                  1. D
                    Diptaneal
                    Feb 18, 2017 at 2:22 am
                    I wonder what kind of review is this. Have you seen it? It is one of the finest submarine warfare movies. It stands good in comparison to some of the Hollywood movies too. I see no reasons why Mrs. langar' reviews are to be trusted. Frankly she may be good in romantic saas Bahu Govinda type movies. Not fit to review technically correct movie. I rate this movie 4 star for the kind of technically accurate submarine warefare it has shown and a half star for being the first Bollywood movie to do to at international standards.
                    Reply
                    1. J
                      Jesus
                      Feb 16, 2017 at 7:23 am
                      This movie Hero and director are fromSouth India. These north Indian editors never gave good rating if the movie was not acre some khan. Just ignore this biased review. See the movie Andy decide yourself.
                      Reply
                      1. P
                        PK
                        Feb 16, 2017 at 11:48 am
                        Guys i am confused movie releasing on 17th feb right so before release how is it possible to give review/rating...can someone plz let me knw
                        Reply
                        1. R
                          Raj
                          Feb 15, 2017 at 10:34 pm
                          Sollu pukka
                          Reply
                          1. M
                            Madhav
                            Feb 23, 2017 at 5:58 pm
                            A very good movie
                            Reply
                            1. R
                              Rajat
                              Feb 19, 2017 at 8:04 am
                              बिकाऊ है ये रा.वन जैसी मूवी को 4 स्टार और इसको 1.5lt;br/gt;घंटा रिव्यु
                              Reply
                              1. R
                                Rajat
                                Feb 19, 2017 at 8:06 am
                                सलमान या शाहरुख़ की मूवी रहती तो पैसे लेकर कम से कम् 3 स्टार देते. बिकाऊ साले
                                Reply
                                1. S
                                  Sachin Topgun
                                  Feb 17, 2017 at 12:37 pm
                                  What a nonsense review, if same movie would have looking stars not actors Saharukh Salman, you would have been gaga over it, this is one of the best War movie made, realistic and keep u wrap to the seat, shame on Reviewer....
                                  Reply
                                  1. S
                                    Sachin Topgun
                                    Feb 17, 2017 at 12:38 pm
                                    What a nonsense review, if same movie would have looking stars not actors Saharukh Salman, you would have been gaga over it, this is one of the best War movie made, realistic and keep u wrap to the seat, shame on Reviewer.......
                                    Reply
                                    1. A
                                      abhimanyu
                                      Feb 23, 2017 at 4:01 pm
                                      i agree with eshwar when he says that good reviews are gives only if palms are greased. a very genuine underwater war movie and it can be compared with the best in the world movies as far as underwater warfare goes.
                                      Reply
                                      1. A
                                        Alok
                                        Feb 26, 2017 at 9:11 pm
                                        I feel you are playing an important role while you are reviewing a movie but at the same time I don't feel you are doing justice to your job. I don't know whose fan are you but I urge to all who reading her review and seeing my comment guys don't go by her review go and watch the movie. It is an awesome movie.
                                        Reply
                                        1. A
                                          aman
                                          Feb 18, 2017 at 6:11 am
                                          This is probbly one of the best war film i have seen.
                                          Reply
                                          1. A
                                            Ankit Majumder
                                            Feb 26, 2017 at 3:34 pm
                                            Wait a sec. I was expecting a movie review, not a semi-political diatribe.
                                            Reply
                                            1. Load More Comments