Kis Kisko Pyaar Karoon review: Managed to find some laughs in this Kapil Sharma film

Kis Kisko Pyaar Karoon review: The only reason not to run out of the theatre, screaming, is that Sharma displays a surprising flair for underplaying.

Rating: 2 out of 5
Written by Shubhra Gupta | New Delhi | Updated: September 26, 2015 9:49 am
Kis Kisko Pyaar Karoon, Kis Kisko Pyaar Karoon review, Kis Kisko Pyaar Karoon movie review, Kis Kisko Pyaar Karoon film review, Kis Kisko Pyaar Karoon rating, Kis Kisko Pyaar Karoon stars, Kapil Sharma, Manjari Fadnis, Simran Kaur Mundi, Sai Lokur, Elli Avram, Varun Sharma, Arbaaz Khan, Sharat Saxena, Supriya Pathak, Manoj Joshi, Abbas Mustan, film review, review, movie review, entertainment news Kis Kisko Pyaar Karoon review: The plot is as 80’s regressive and outlandish as they come, with Kapil Sharma playing Shiv Ram Kishan, a man with three wives, about to jump into matrimony yet another time.

I have a confession to make: I have never managed to watch a single episode of ‘Comedy Nights With Kapil’. Not one. Not that I haven’t tried, because hey, anything in the interests of consuming highly popular culture. But a few minutes in, Sharma’s litany of tasteless, loud jabs have been too much for me to handle, and I’ve slunk away, defeated, every single time.

So ‘Kis Kisko Pyaar Karoon’, his film debut, was watched strictly in the line of duty. I was fully prepared to shut my eyes (and ears) to be able to survive it, and now that I’m done, I’m bound to tell you that not only am I alive still, but I also managed to find some laughs, with Messrs Sharma, Kapil and Varun.

It’s not as if the film didn’t try hard to offend me. The plot is as 80’s regressive and outlandish as they come, with Kapil Sharma playing Shiv Ram Kishan, a man with three wives, about to jump into matrimony yet another time. He calls each marriage a ‘haadsa’ (‘accident’), whizzes about fulfilling his husbandly duties, lying through his teeth, and smiling all the way through. Tired old japes about ‘biwis’ and ‘musibat’, and ‘wives’ and ‘tension’ abound : clearly, the plot is strictly from the male point of view, and wants us to feel for the poor fellow who has been saddled with not one but `three-three’ ‘problems’, polygamous or no.

The wives’ don’t know they are a threesome ( Manjari Fadnis, Simran Kaur Mundi, Sai Lokur) despite living in the same building. It’s Mumbai silly, no one knows each other. By the time they do, Sharma has had enough time to kiss and soothe each lovely. And make his way towards the true love of his life (Elli Avram), who seems more comfortable dancing in a club rather than in a `mangalsutra’-kitchen combo that she is aspiring to.

The only reason not to run out of the theatre, screaming, is that Sharma displays a surprising flair for underplaying. He is clearly building on his TV comic persona, but manages to employ more than the standard smirk, which seems to be his only expression on his show, to make his point, and there are places he delivers his lines with smart timing. He nearly makes you believe that under all that yucky creepiness, there is a solid, middle-class helplessness to his Shiv Ram Kishan, and then the plot goes and does him in.

Mommy Supriya Pathak, who can be a fine comic, is made to deliver herself of a moral science lesson about `shaadi’ and ‘ghar-baar’, and manages to ruin a bawdy, vulgar comedy that was racketing along. I cringed more at the lecture-at-the-`mandap’, than in the whole movie which is full of women whose only joy is in getting married, and staying married, regardless of how caddish their man may be.

Next time around, because I’m sure there will be an encore, maybe the offense quotient can be lowered, because low IQ jokes can overwhelm anyone, even comedy kings. Kis kisko ignore karoon?

Cast: Kapil Sharma, Manjari Fadnis, Simran Kaur Mundi, Sai Lokur, Elli Avram, Varun Sharma, Arbaaz Khan, Sharat Saxena, Supriya Pathak, Manoj Joshi
Director duo: Abbas Mustan

Two Stars

For all the latest Entertainment News, download Indian Express App now

First Published on: September 25, 2015 4:14 pm
  1. A
    Ashutosh Pandey
    Sep 26, 2015 at 10:30 am
    this review seems ,tending to personal allergy with KS than giving honest calculation. Indian Express,spend little more bucks and hire an educated critic not someone who had dream of being a start but lost behind the name as Critic. Raise your bar else loose your only job!
    Reply
    1. R
      Reader
      Sep 26, 2015 at 8:52 am
      If i dont like horror shows and films, the last thing I will review is a horror movie !! You dont like his show at all, then you are most certain to not like his movie as well. Someone else should have reviewed it for the paper to provide an unbiased review to readers.
      Reply
      1. S
        sm
        Sep 26, 2015 at 2:33 pm
        I have watched movie and would say that story may not be special but w situation of comedy will makes ur jaws to pain . Kapil done fair acting.., subra need some rest from job :)
        Reply
        1. S
          S K
          Sep 25, 2015 at 5:29 pm
          Your personal opinion could matter more to you and nothing for those who have different point of you. What you like may not be liked by crores and what you don't like may be liked by crores. Your views are strictly yours
          Reply
          1. A
            Akshay Ramani
            Sep 26, 2015 at 1:47 pm
            Total useless review.... Shubra Gupta, for sure, is not aware of any Comedy. Thumbs down for Shubra Gupta and Thumbs up for Kapil Sharma.
            Reply
            1. A
              aks
              Sep 25, 2015 at 7:50 pm
              This lady has been singularly innocent of having written a single meaningful review all theses years of her labour. The newspaper still does not seem to get the message and continue to inflict her on all.
              Reply
              1. A
                Anil
                Sep 26, 2015 at 9:47 am
                Unfortunate that indian express is having such a silly expert to review kapil's film. Expert's view appears to be full of hidden jealous . If such experts continue to write for your paper, than it is unfortunate to say that your paper is worth to clean shiiiit only.
                Reply
                1. A
                  atul
                  Sep 26, 2015 at 12:28 am
                  I m sorry Shubhra that you had to watch this junk. My heartfelt sympathies ! And note that all other responders are jokers like Sharma himself !! Ha ha
                  Reply
                  1. A
                    atul
                    Sep 26, 2015 at 12:26 am
                    That this joker actually has the most por TV show in the country today shows how pathetic our new generation is turning out to be. I tried to watch his show a few times, but each time I banged my head against a wall. The real stars of comedy in India were Raju and to some extent Lehri. Add a few average ones here and there and that's all. The rest s all junk.
                    Reply
                    1. M
                      manish
                      Sep 26, 2015 at 4:59 pm
                      i have not yet watched the movie. i watch most movies after reading subhra gupta's review and usually a movie which she rates 2 or more. i am a big fan of subhra and just love her art of writing movie reviews. i feel bad when people are commenting negative on her reviews . after all its her point of view and its not like it will always match ours'. we should be sensible about what we are writing about a senior columnist of a national newspaper. one thing that i found disappointing with this review is , subhra gupta has written that she went to watch the movie strictly in the line of duty and she was fully prepared to shut her eyes and ears to survive it. now what were those lines from a respectful person like her mean? once she wrote that she never watch trailers or previews or promos before the release of her movie to be unbiased but this time she is herself contradictory and confusing . please ma'm , we rely on your reviews to watch the movie . pls.....
                      Reply
                      1. D
                        devinder sharma
                        Sep 27, 2015 at 9:50 am
                        what a breezy and wonder ful way to express in words. very well articulated and written.
                        Reply
                        1. D
                          dipika suvarna
                          Sep 30, 2015 at 12:48 am
                          Like ssly...get a life bro....pure india bohot hi kamm log honge jinhe cnwk nai pasand ....so puri country pagal nai h....woh kuch log hi akal se paidal honge..jo khudko sahi aur puri country ko galat bata rahe h
                          Reply
                          1. A
                            ali
                            Oct 2, 2015 at 12:51 pm
                            Bakwaas movie. I didnt like it
                            Reply
                            1. V
                              Vipin Dubey
                              Sep 25, 2015 at 5:41 pm
                              I wonder how did you watch and wrote reviews for all three movies between 11 AM to 3 PM same day in just 4 hours. Or say producers did a special screening for you before release ?
                              Reply
                              1. H
                                Hentai Kamen
                                Sep 25, 2015 at 8:04 pm
                                She didnt watch the show...but she managed herself to write this long review, and some people said , she is versatile...
                                Reply
                                1. G
                                  goutham
                                  Sep 26, 2015 at 9:57 am
                                  shubra gupta is the best film critic in the country, kapil sharma ooh, like shubra said I can't sit more than 5 min to his CNWK. wak, what type of comedy is that, loud and ic, stand up comedy should be like raju srivatsav does, I used to enjoy lot comedy nights in star one. People enjoying kapil sharma show better check your IQ.good luck
                                  Reply
                                  1. A
                                    Anonymous
                                    Dec 27, 2015 at 6:01 pm
                                    This is the utmost extent of ridicule. Each and every thing now-a-days are seen as an intended direct offence to ""women"". It is a very good movie and the basic problem is that we expect a Russell Peters comedy from star who is doing his debut movie without any glamorous star cast. It is absolutely NOT "insufferable". Rather i would recommend you to watch your all movies from now on without any predisposition and pre-occupied thoughts. It would make you a better obsever and PLEASE NO ONE IS OFFENDING ""WOMEN"" and rather if anything- It gives a message that- Don't do anything to break a woman's heart!!
                                    Reply
                                    1. M
                                      Maq
                                      Sep 25, 2015 at 11:35 pm
                                      Believe me, I didn't see the name of the author when started reading the review and half way through I was sure it would be a lady and checked the name at the top and bingo I was right. She mistook the movie to be a social cause solving or uplifting or eradicating some women issues. Shubhra, let us talk about the block busters that were released recently how many of them solved any social cause. You must keep such things away when reviewing and review only the movie. For me, it was a good comedy.
                                      Reply
                                      1. B
                                        Breeze
                                        Sep 26, 2015 at 9:02 pm
                                        Seniority will be respected if she writes in the capacity of the senior. The entire review sounds more like some naari morcha andolan. It sounds more like a person like can never watch this movie. But while jabbing her words she forgot that the review is not about her likes dislikes or personal preferences but it is about the movie. She is very much enled to her personal opinions which she can post in her personal space like a personal blog where she can talk to people who resonate with her. But this is not a personal blog.
                                        Reply
                                        1. B
                                          Breeze
                                          Sep 26, 2015 at 12:30 pm
                                          This movie is surely not for the my people like Shubhra Gupta. It's for that niche who appreciates genuine comedy. People who blindly follow comedy from the white trash would never appreciate the desi tadka coz somehow they could not get the pulse of our janta. Ideally its like telling someone who watches romcom movies to watch game of thrones and review it. How else would you expect the review to be.
                                          Reply
                                          1. M
                                            Manish
                                            Sep 25, 2015 at 4:59 pm
                                            You sense of humor is misplaced as you could not watch even one episode of Comedy Nights. Kis kis ko ignore karoon?..well I choose to ignore you. Thanks!
                                            Reply
                                            1. Load More Comments