Kill Dil movie review: Ranveer, Parineeti are buried under despite their best efforts

Kill Dil movie review: This isn't one of those films that slides after a promising start. This begins badly, plods away the way it began, and ends worse.

Rating: 0.5 out of 5
Written by Shubhra Gupta | New Delhi | Updated: November 18, 2014 9:53 am
Kill Dil Movie Review: This isn't one of those films that slides after a promising start. This begins badly, plods away the way it began, and ends worse. Kill Dil Movie Review: This isn’t one of those films that slides after a promising start. This begins badly, plods away the way it began, and ends worse.

Kill Dil movie review
Star Cast: Ranveer Singh, Parineeti Chopra, Ali Zafar, Govinda
Director : Shaad Ali
Review Rating: half star

I’ve just got done with ‘Kill Dil’, and my heart is still in a state of arrest: how can you make a film with a bunch of actors who have proved they are capable of carrying a scene, and above all Govinda, which is such a dud?

This isn’t one of those films that slides after a promising start. This begins badly, plods away the way it began, and ends worse.  A street-side hood picks up a couple of babies from a ‘kachre ka dabba’, raises them to shoot sharp from mouth and barrel, and the boy gang rolls along merrily till it hits a roadblock: the plot is thinner than a wafer, and older than the hills. And the treatment makes you wonder if this one came from the same gang which gave us the frothy, fun ‘Bunty Aur Babli’.

Govinda, playing Bhaiyyaji the Goon, goes through the film slitting his eyes and growling his lines, and bantering with his henchmen.  Chief henchboys  Dev (Ranveer Singh) and Tutu (Ali Zafar) wear leather and wield guns, surrounded by standard Yashraj designer grunge. Then Dev runs into Disha (Parineeti Chopra), and sees the light.

Nothing rescues us, however. Because Govinda can dance, he’s given a couple of completely outlandish numbers. But there’s nothing in this that he can save with his still-deft moves. Ali Zafar’s familiar amiable self is hopelessly miscast. Ranveer Singh is given a part that allows him to shoot and scoot, things he can do with ease, and is partnered with Parineeti Chopra: the two are buried under despite their best efforts.

This has steadily and sadly become a Yashraj trademark, the studio that has given Hindi cinema so many of its beloved landmarks, this cannibalizing bits and pieces of its own films without being able to give us a story we can believe in. It’s  one thing to have an element or two which is exaggerated, it’s completely another to get through a full film with such few credible moments.

And ‘Kill Dil’ goes one better in the way it gets all its lead characters to spew cringe-inducing, crass dialogue.

Dear Yashraj, are you serious?

Half star

For all the latest Entertainment News, download Indian Express App now

  1. A
    Anup
    Nov 16, 2014 at 12:57 am
    Dear Shubhra, are you in serious?? I think you should see a doctor if you cant even enjoy such a good movie..I'd give 4 stars to the movie n 0 to your review..go get a life n stop wasting your time in reviews which you are clearly not good at...
    Reply
    1. A
      Abd Roger
      Nov 14, 2014 at 1:08 pm
      Worst review ever
      Reply
      1. J
        Jeethendra kumar
        Nov 17, 2014 at 6:54 am
        Moderator ..why is this comment being removed ... i dont think anything vulgar is written below... learn to accept the criticism of your audience :P :P ...Realllly ???? .. i dont think that this Movie was as worse as you guys are predicting .. comes on guys .. has your union decided to go against this movie ... i went to movie with half heart as i was believing you critics.... but to my surprise i NEVER got bored and the entire Theatre was in applause and laughter and it was FUlll toooooo time p with excellent timings and punches by Govinda and superb acting by Ranveer and Ali... though Parineeti went over board at times .. but over all it was entertainer and when i came out i was wondering why why you guys gave ratings and reviews so bad ... its a Typical MA movie with full entertainment.............. Guess it should have SRK or SALMAAN for the critics to praise it blindly .."'Mungfalion Main Chilke Aur Laundiyon Main Nakhre Na Hote Toh Zindagi Kitni Aasan Hoti.""
        Reply
        1. J
          Jeethendra kumar
          Nov 17, 2014 at 6:46 am
          Realllly ???? ... i dont think that this Movie was as worse as you guys are predicting .. comes on guys .. has your union decided to go against this movie ... i went to movie with half heart as i was believing you critics.... but to my surprise i NEVER got bored and the entire Theatre was in applause and laughter and it was FUlll toooooo time p with excellent timings and punches by Govinda and superb acting by Ranveer and Ali... though Parineeti went over board at times .. but over all it was entertainer and when i came out i was wondering why why you guys gave ratings and reviews so bad ... its a Typical MA movie with full entertainment.............. Guess it should have SRK or SALMAAN for the critics to praise it blindly .."'Mungfalion Main Chilke Aur Laundiyon Main Nakhre Na Hote Toh Zindagi Kitni Aasan Hoti.""
          Reply
          1. J
            Jeethendra kumar
            Nov 17, 2014 at 6:30 am
            Realllly ???? Mr gupta ji .. i dont think that this Movie was as worse as you guys are predicting .. comes on guys .. has your union decided to go against this movie ... i went to movie with half heart as i was believing you critics.... but to my surprise i NEVER got bored and the entire Theatre was in applause and laughter and it was FUlll toooooo time p with excellent timings and punches by Govinda and superb acting by Ranveer and Ali... though Parineeti went over board at times .. but over all it was entertainer and when i came out i was wondering why why you guys gave ratings and reviews so bad ... its a Typical MA movie with full entertainment.............. Guess it should have SRK or SALMAAN for the critics to praise it blindly .."'Mungfalion Main Chilke Aur Laundiyon Main Nakhre Na Hote Toh Zindagi Kitni Aasan Hoti.""
            Reply
            1. J
              Jeethendra kumar
              Nov 17, 2014 at 6:40 am
              review is biased ... give it a try you will like it .. time p movie hai.. guess the writer of this review is comparing this movie with Interstellar :P :P ... yeh apna bollywoood time p movie hai dost...
              Reply
              1. M
                Mohammad Ahmad
                Nov 22, 2014 at 5:24 am
                Crock of .
                Reply
                1. A
                  AishwaryaVani
                  Nov 16, 2014 at 3:36 am
                  Movie is a complete piece of . Not expected out of Ranveer and Parineeti :'(
                  Reply
                  1. A
                    Ap
                    Nov 14, 2014 at 7:20 pm
                    Dear Shubra,I have enjo all of your reviews. Its that frank, cut through the noise quality while still identifying the potential of not only the case, but the director/production house is what makes me like the words you put together. Your reviews have saved me, many a bother, from wasting my time on films which are hyped and under performers. Thank you. Another reason i appreciate your honesty, is because so many reviews(reference - large national dailies:)) seem to be a product of the publisher's relationship with the film stakeholders and not the audience -who eventually make or break the film. Cheers!
                    Reply
                    1. A
                      ankit
                      Dec 5, 2014 at 7:52 pm
                      i just hated this movie a piece of a i agree with u Rahul..... poori movie mei govinda was the main villanbut at the end ek chichora came and killed him,n both the actors Ranveer and Ali joined insurance company...dude r u serious, be realistic what the are you trying to show us...we are in 21st cen not in the 18 century...
                      Reply
                      1. F
                        funny review
                        Nov 14, 2014 at 7:20 pm
                        Bakwas review..
                        Reply
                        1. A
                          Ashutosh
                          Nov 15, 2014 at 7:16 pm
                          Completely agree...film offers nothing more than yawns
                          Reply
                          1. A
                            As
                            Nov 14, 2014 at 9:20 am
                            Kya bekaar review hai.. Movie jyada Kharab hai ya review - pata nahi
                            Reply
                            1. A
                              Ash
                              Nov 14, 2014 at 8:21 am
                              They weren't together in Band Baja Baraat . it was Ladies v/s RIcky Behl. Meh
                              Reply
                              1. H
                                harvinder pal
                                Nov 14, 2014 at 5:09 pm
                                Kill dil excellent movie ranbir super acting
                                Reply
                                1. J
                                  Jai K
                                  Nov 14, 2014 at 4:52 pm
                                  The true villains of Hindi cinema are the ones who make it a point to watch these trash movies!!!!
                                  Reply
                                  1. K
                                    Kimberly
                                    Nov 16, 2014 at 8:56 am
                                    Hi Guys, Watch your favorite movies and TV online for free, visit: 247watchmoviesonline(dot)com (Just replace the (dot) with the actual .)
                                    Reply
                                    1. K
                                      Kinglearner
                                      Nov 15, 2014 at 12:26 am
                                      Watch Kill-Dil Movie Free HD 2014 Free Download Movie Download In mkv
                                      Reply
                                      1. K
                                        Kinglearner
                                        Nov 15, 2014 at 12:27 am
                                        Watch Kill-Dil full Movie HD 2014
                                        Reply
                                        1. K
                                          KG
                                          Nov 16, 2014 at 6:04 pm
                                          This film was an ault on the senses in every way. Everyone who is involved in the making of this film has had a decent track record in the past. The actors, the music directors and the director himself. Not to mention YRF. What happened? Why would anyone work to create a film like this??? It doesn't even deserve the 1/2*
                                          Reply
                                          1. M
                                            manish tulsiyani
                                            Nov 14, 2014 at 9:48 am
                                            looo.. juzz came out from the theatre.. n muvi is toddu,, xyyy, watttaa timing n performnce by Ranvir Singh... whos dat repoter who dont hav knoldge of humor n direction.. woww n entertaining muvi it is...
                                            Reply
                                            1. Load More Comments