Kill Dil movie review: Ranveer, Parineeti are buried under despite their best efforts

Kill Dil movie review: This isn't one of those films that slides after a promising start. This begins badly, plods away the way it began, and ends worse.

Rating: 0.5 out of 5
Written by Shubhra Gupta | New Delhi | Updated: November 18, 2014 9:53 am
Kill Dil Movie Review: This isn't one of those films that slides after a promising start. This begins badly, plods away the way it began, and ends worse. Kill Dil Movie Review: This isn’t one of those films that slides after a promising start. This begins badly, plods away the way it began, and ends worse.

Kill Dil movie review
Star Cast: Ranveer Singh, Parineeti Chopra, Ali Zafar, Govinda
Director : Shaad Ali
Review Rating: half star

I’ve just got done with ‘Kill Dil’, and my heart is still in a state of arrest: how can you make a film with a bunch of actors who have proved they are capable of carrying a scene, and above all Govinda, which is such a dud?

This isn’t one of those films that slides after a promising start. This begins badly, plods away the way it began, and ends worse.  A street-side hood picks up a couple of babies from a ‘kachre ka dabba’, raises them to shoot sharp from mouth and barrel, and the boy gang rolls along merrily till it hits a roadblock: the plot is thinner than a wafer, and older than the hills. And the treatment makes you wonder if this one came from the same gang which gave us the frothy, fun ‘Bunty Aur Babli’.

Govinda, playing Bhaiyyaji the Goon, goes through the film slitting his eyes and growling his lines, and bantering with his henchmen.  Chief henchboys  Dev (Ranveer Singh) and Tutu (Ali Zafar) wear leather and wield guns, surrounded by standard Yashraj designer grunge. Then Dev runs into Disha (Parineeti Chopra), and sees the light.

Nothing rescues us, however. Because Govinda can dance, he’s given a couple of completely outlandish numbers. But there’s nothing in this that he can save with his still-deft moves. Ali Zafar’s familiar amiable self is hopelessly miscast. Ranveer Singh is given a part that allows him to shoot and scoot, things he can do with ease, and is partnered with Parineeti Chopra: the two are buried under despite their best efforts.

This has steadily and sadly become a Yashraj trademark, the studio that has given Hindi cinema so many of its beloved landmarks, this cannibalizing bits and pieces of its own films without being able to give us a story we can believe in. It’s  one thing to have an element or two which is exaggerated, it’s completely another to get through a full film with such few credible moments.

And ‘Kill Dil’ goes one better in the way it gets all its lead characters to spew cringe-inducing, crass dialogue.

Dear Yashraj, are you serious?

Half star

For all the latest Entertainment News, download Indian Express App

  1. A
    Anup
    Nov 16, 2014 at 12:57 am
    Dear Shubhra, are you in serious?? I think you should see a doctor if you cant even enjoy such a good movie..I'd give 4 stars to the movie n 0 to your review..go get a life n stop wasting your time in reviews which you are clearly not good at...
    Reply
  2. A
    Abd Roger
    Nov 14, 2014 at 1:08 pm
    Worst review ever
    Reply
  3. J
    Jeethendra kumar
    Nov 17, 2014 at 6:54 am
    Moderator ..why is this comment being removed ... i dont think anything vulgar is written below... learn to accept the criticism of your audience :P :P ...Realllly ???? .. i dont think that this Movie was as worse as you guys are predicting .. comes on guys .. has your union decided to go against this movie ... i went to movie with half heart as i was believing you critics.... but to my surprise i NEVER got bored and the entire Theatre was in applause and laughter and it was FUlll toooooo time p with excellent timings and punches by Govinda and superb acting by Ranveer and Ali... though Parineeti went over board at times .. but over all it was entertainer and when i came out i was wondering why why you guys gave ratings and reviews so bad ... its a Typical MA movie with full entertainment.............. Guess it should have SRK or SALMAAN for the critics to praise it blindly .."'Mungfalion Main Chilke Aur Laundiyon Main Nakhre Na Hote Toh Zindagi Kitni Aasan Hoti.""
    Reply
  4. J
    Jeethendra kumar
    Nov 17, 2014 at 6:46 am
    Realllly ???? ... i dont think that this Movie was as worse as you guys are predicting .. comes on guys .. has your union decided to go against this movie ... i went to movie with half heart as i was believing you critics.... but to my surprise i NEVER got bored and the entire Theatre was in applause and laughter and it was FUlll toooooo time p with excellent timings and punches by Govinda and superb acting by Ranveer and Ali... though Parineeti went over board at times .. but over all it was entertainer and when i came out i was wondering why why you guys gave ratings and reviews so bad ... its a Typical MA movie with full entertainment.............. Guess it should have SRK or SALMAAN for the critics to praise it blindly .."'Mungfalion Main Chilke Aur Laundiyon Main Nakhre Na Hote Toh Zindagi Kitni Aasan Hoti.""
    Reply
  5. J
    Jeethendra kumar
    Nov 17, 2014 at 6:30 am
    Realllly ???? Mr gupta ji .. i dont think that this Movie was as worse as you guys are predicting .. comes on guys .. has your union decided to go against this movie ... i went to movie with half heart as i was believing you critics.... but to my surprise i NEVER got bored and the entire Theatre was in applause and laughter and it was FUlll toooooo time p with excellent timings and punches by Govinda and superb acting by Ranveer and Ali... though Parineeti went over board at times .. but over all it was entertainer and when i came out i was wondering why why you guys gave ratings and reviews so bad ... its a Typical MA movie with full entertainment.............. Guess it should have SRK or SALMAAN for the critics to praise it blindly .."'Mungfalion Main Chilke Aur Laundiyon Main Nakhre Na Hote Toh Zindagi Kitni Aasan Hoti.""
    Reply
  6. J
    Jeethendra kumar
    Nov 17, 2014 at 6:40 am
    review is biased ... give it a try you will like it .. time p movie hai.. guess the writer of this review is comparing this movie with Interstellar :P :P ... yeh apna bollywoood time p movie hai dost...
    Reply
  7. M
    Mohammad Ahmad
    Nov 22, 2014 at 5:24 am
    Crock of .
    Reply
  8. A
    AishwaryaVani
    Nov 16, 2014 at 3:36 am
    Movie is a complete piece of . Not expected out of Ranveer and Parineeti :'(
    Reply
  9. Load More Comments