Baahubali 2 movie review: Only if Kattappa had killed Baahubali earlier

Baahubali 2 movie review: Baahubali The Beginning was enormously enjoyable. Baahubali The Conclusion comes to life only in bits and pieces and the credit for it should goes to Prabhas.

Rating: 2 out of 5
Written by Shubhra Gupta | New Delhi | Updated: April 29, 2017 2:22 pm
baahubali 2 movie review, bahubali 2 movie review, bahubali 2, baahubali 2, baahubali 2 image Baahubali 2 movie review: The only one who does not drown in familiarity is Prabhas who plays Baahubali with strength and vigour.

Baahubali 2 movie cast: Prabhas, Rana Daggubati, Anushka Shetty, Tamannaah Bhatia, Ramya Krishnan, Sathyaraj, Nassar
Baahubali 2 movie director: SS Rajamouli 
Baahubali 2 star rating: 2 stars

For two years the nation has been wanting to know, the hysteria increasing with every passing day: why did Kattappa kill Baahubali? Smart viewers would probably have glommed the answer, but given that Baahubali 2 was made expressly for that purpose, we duly give it our time and attention.

We get the answer, but only after long, infernally silly romantic interludes: romance is not really S S Rajamouli’s strength. And everything after the big reveal, which really isn’t half as big as was promised, seems like anti-climactic excess. At the end of nearly three hours, I can tell you that the second part is not half as satisfying or fun as the original.

And the reason is clear: sequelitis. Together with the singular lack of a plot interesting enough to hang a query on, Baahubali 2 comes off as too much sound and fury signifying little.

baahubali 2 movie review, bahubali 2, baahubali 2 review, bahubali 2 review, bahubali 2 image Prabhas stands strong like a rock in Baahubali 2.

The first time around the animated hi-jinks that Rajamouli created, a sort of ‘desi tadka’ version of Peter Jackson and James Cameron crossed with Amar Chitra Katha, were astonishing, both in terms of scale and setting and story telling. I was blown away by the sheer confidence and the conviction of the film-making, ignoring the risible bits and pieces.

And it finished on a great hook, with THAT question which we got to take home, and which got us swarming into theaters brimming with excitement: when was the last time a Telugu movie, dubbed in multiple languages including Hindi, power into multiplexes around the world, shoving aside all competition? Never.

But what took our breath away in 2014 is same old, been here, seen most of it, in 2017. Yes, it is bigger, but it is not better. And it feels much louder. The background music is relentless, and the pitch at which the declamatory dialogues are delivered is deafening: there were times I felt like closing my ears.

The clash between warring princes Baahubali (Prabhas) and Bhallala (Rana Dagubatti) is the fulcrum around which the film revolves. As we know from the first part, Baahubali is the good guy, the rightful heir to the throne, and will save his kingdom from the evil Bhallala, come what may.

The regal queen Sivagami (Ramya) is as commanding as ever, presiding over the fate of the two men, and the fiery princess Devasena (Anushka Shetty) gets a lot of play. Nassar’s wily old king is craftier, and Kattappa (Sathyaraj), that faithful retainer who is forced into the terrible murder, is as loyal as ever.

Also read | Baahubali 2 box office prediction: SS Rajamouli film to break Dangal records, may earn Rs 250 crore in 3 days 

As in the first part, there are a few startlingly gauche parts in the man-woman skirmishes: you don’t really want a woman to call herself a ‘charnon ki daasi’ even if it’s a film set in the distant, mythical past, especially if she is a warrior princess with a strong will.

But we’ve seen it all. Only in some places where the battle scenes and the hand-to-hand combat is choreographed beautifully (there’s one spectacular balletic set-piece between Prabhas and Shetty in which they take on an attacking swarm) and with great energy do you sit up and watch with interest. A couple of times you laugh out loud in appreciation at the sheer spectacle: thousands upon thousands of soldiers, a vista that fills the eye and more, and a hero cleaving through, his eye on the win.

And that brings me to Prabhas, the only one who doesn’t drown in familiarity in a story which doesn’t know when to stop. He plays Baahubali, he of great strength, with as much verve and vigour as in the first part. Striding across the screen, his `dhoti’ and vest and armour all in the right place, he comes across as the perfect action hero, complete eye candy, and the biggest strength of the film.

I enjoyed the first part enormously. The second one comes to life only intermittently. Leaving the theatre, you can’t help wishing that Kattappa had killed the fellow earlier, for us to get a tighter, more economical and perhaps sharper conclusion.

Fans of Baahubali 2 also shared their reviews on social media. Check out some of the videos they posted on YouTube.

 

Baahubali 2 had a sensational opening in India, and is expected to surpass the day one records of Sultan (Rs 36.54 crore) and Dangal (Rs 29.78 crore).

For all the latest Entertainment News, download Indian Express App now

  1. S
    Shamik
    May 23, 2017 at 9:09 pm
    It's a muv I watchd 4 tyms in theater wth same enthu. 'charnon ki dasi' is d only scene u remembr? N only des words? Der is lot more appreciable she had said. U din hear that? Uh! It's a muv whrin u see so mch of respect for women & women wth self respect. Sivagami who strongly n bravely rules d kingdom for 25yrs. D 1 who cnt wthstand any1 who disobeys her, knows exactly wen to bow down n upon realizing mistake,she apologizes to devsena, n touches her feet. (she is rajmata touchig her daughter-in-law's feet smthing dat is happeng in a film set in mythicl past) Devasena, a brave warrior princess, to save her kingdom fights wth enemies. She refuses a marriage proposal. Wen askd to surrender replies'Mera swabhiman harke bandi bankar ana asambhav he'. Wen she sees dat army chief touches women, devsena chops his fingers. n u misd d best scene-bahubali's reaction upon knowing the incident, he says 'aurat pe haT dalnewale ki ungliyan nhi katate, katate he uska gala'. (Jst wnt u 2 notic dis
    Reply
    1. A
      Amarendra Bahubali
      May 23, 2017 at 6:38 pm
      😂 C grade critics and columnist are the reason Indian Express has such low reach. This seems to be written by some some low IQ relative of Chief Editor of IE. Keep to urself tards.
      Reply
      1. S
        sk
        May 23, 2017 at 2:49 am
        I think the reviewer did not like the movie because this movie did not host any typical BOLLYWOOD actors, that's the main reason... I guess Bollywood is so accustomed to borrow the talent from stan as if there is no talent in India .. please watch the movies with borrowed actors and singers.. because you are so biased, you can't appreciate any talent from south.
        Reply
        1. D
          daksinamoorthi
          May 22, 2017 at 7:03 pm
          Oh... Miss shubra Gupta you have no common sense and you are not fit to watch classic movies. 1. I think you are an useless and am not intrested to Listen To your ic comments 2. I think you are not fit to watch any southern films 3. If your rating is correct then how my bahubali film succeeded to be the first Indian film to get 1500 crores within 3 weeks 4. At last shut your Bleddy ic nonsense reviews with this as last and go and watch only foreign filM Be an Indian not an stranger by your words
          Reply
          1. G
            Gargi Maheshwari
            May 22, 2017 at 4:47 pm
            pls ask shubhra gupta to watch movie with brain... not wd her useless tongue... BAHUBALI 1&2 one of the BEST movie till now... won hearts of the people... luvd ds movie a lot... wanaa see it more dn once twice thrice...
            Reply
            1. G
              Gargi Maheshwari
              May 22, 2017 at 4:43 pm
              go to ad shubhra gupta... she needs psychatrist ... rating 2/5 to bahubali 2 shows her illiteracy towards films... n all over the film which crossed 1000 crore dont need your bull ratings... keep ur ratings at ur home under ur pillow... u people are not supposed to roam outside injurious for others... get well soon
              Reply
              1. J
                Jaymeet Rathod
                May 21, 2017 at 9:24 pm
                The biggest milestone been reached by THE BIGGEST BLOCKBUSTER MOVIE OF INDIAN CINEMA.This is my most favorite movie in my LIFE. I want to watch it AGAIN and AGAIN and AGAIN…..and I watched this movie 8 times in theaters. The are so many people who watched it twice in theaters. I loved each and every scene. I couldn’t take my eyes off even for a minute. Specially Amarendra Bahubali’s personality was out of the world. This is such a GREAT INDIAN MOVIE. On the w , BAAHUBALI 2 makes you proud that an Indian filmmaker dared to dream big and accomplished it. BAAHUBALI 2 is definitely not to be missed. “PLEASE DO NOT WATCH THIS MOVIE IN MOBILE, LAPTOP or ANYWHRE BUY A TICKET FROM BOX-OFFICE AND WATCH THIS MOVIE IN THEATERS.” Call it a box-office blockbuster today, but tomorrow, it will be remembered as a classic.JAI MAHISHMATI…!!! JAYMEET RATHOD (THE BIGGEST FAN OF PRABHAS) 9016066060
                Reply
                1. K
                  Khetesh
                  May 21, 2017 at 1:31 pm
                  Fantastic movie
                  Reply
                  1. M
                    manoj
                    May 21, 2017 at 2:02 am
                    When F'ED BRAIN REVIEWS, this is the standard. B TARD SHOULD QUIT
                    Reply
                    1. M
                      manoj
                      May 21, 2017 at 1:59 am
                      PIECE OF HUMAN SH T REVIEWE
                      Reply
                      1. N
                        Narendra Bagkar
                        May 20, 2017 at 5:59 am
                        Very Bad Review. Just look at the collection, the world is not mad. The reviewer should go for mental check up, and should be banned to write reviews.
                        Reply
                        1. W
                          weekly vomiting lady
                          May 19, 2017 at 10:53 pm
                          Full of negativity. I wonder who pays for vomiting and ting like this. Third cl review!!
                          Reply
                          1. V
                            Vani Chaparala
                            May 19, 2017 at 7:48 am
                            Very poor quality review with extreme subjectivity. I would give 0.1/1000000 for this review. BTW, the so called wise reviewer must understand that this film is a fiction filled with fantasy. Reviewing films with objectivity within the cope of genre without letting personal bias in, is an art. I highly recommend the author to undergo some training, in order to do justification to his/her profession. - with sincere advise, one of the unfortunate readers of this review
                            Reply
                            1. W
                              weekly vomiting lady
                              May 19, 2017 at 10:51 pm
                              Well said, not just for this movie, This reviewer comes every week and s over. Basically does leave a lot of GOBBRA - (cow dung), she should change her name to Gobra das gupta
                              Reply
                            2. I
                              Indian Patriot
                              May 18, 2017 at 1:17 am
                              Worst review by indianexpress and Shubhra Gupta. Shame on you to call yourself as a journalist. Your negativity about this movie shows a different propa a. I urge people to boycott media like yours.
                              Reply
                              1. C
                                Chu Haa
                                May 17, 2017 at 1:58 am
                                If you don't like action films, please don't watch them. Yeah, i know in this age you won't enjoy action scenes with loud BG score, its human nature to start preferring calm, soft and light films once you hit the wrong side of your fifties. But why boring us, poor readers, with your lack of interest? You're the one who gave Kapoor and Sons a 2 star rating and then including it in your year's best 10 films list. You saw a plot in Sultan but not in Baahubali. You were all praise of your star’s scope, and of mainstream Bollywood(sic) during Sultan review. And here, you can't even sit through this film. Ms.Shubhra Gupta, it's time you please quit this job. Please allow us to read someone else's review in Indian Express. Give way to a young chap. NB: I don't have any problem even if you come out of retirement and keep writing those same old foot licking review for Karan Johar films, because I don't care those sh tty bags.
                                Reply
                                1. B
                                  Bunny vyas
                                  May 16, 2017 at 10:17 am
                                  Did she watched the comments. She is not able to be a reviewer from my end she is equal to Kamal r Khan. Pity you . Is this a review for a movie which erned 15000 cr.
                                  Reply
                                  1. S
                                    Shezia
                                    May 16, 2017 at 1:38 am
                                    Hey !! Haha criticising is easy man.And I feel shame cz ppl like you are just eagerly waiting for figuring out faults.Tbis is such a worst review I hv ever read ,so sry for that. I COMPLETELY DISAGREE WITH THIS REVIEW. In fact,this is 1000times beautiful and interesting that the first part. I don't know what kind of romance you were expecting,bcz you already mentioned that romance is not rajamouli's strength.This is not a romantic thriller actually,if romance is what you need it's better to go for some mani rathnam movie.This is more than one can imagine,and the secret behind why kattapa killed bahubali is also satisfactory. This is such a GREAT INDIAN MOVIE.Feel pity on Negative reviewers.
                                    Reply
                                    1. T
                                      Tuhin Kanti Ghosh
                                      May 14, 2017 at 12:02 am
                                      They are blocking the word P R O P A G A N D A in my review... which really proves what this review by Subhra Gupta is. - Dr.Tuhin Kanti Ghosh
                                      Reply
                                      1. T
                                        Tuhin Kanti Ghosh
                                        May 13, 2017 at 11:56 pm
                                        We all who've got human brains inside our skull only can appreciate BAHUBALI THE CONCLUSION movie ... which is a TRUE EPIC CREATION in history of INDIAN CINEMA ... But people who are either -heads or just paid by 'Bollywood Supremacist' to put a demoralizing propropa a can never appreciate BAHUBALI 2 ... This ty propa a to manupulate people to back out from watching this movie who still havn't seen it in theatre...JUST WON'T WORK. BECAUSE TRUTH IS "BAHUBALI : THE CONCLUSION" IS A GEM..not only breaking records & recieving appreciation from worldwide... It's also a tight slap to BOLLYWOOD's cheap tricks of making money for Producers and BIG BOLLYWOOD STARS...without contributing anything to Indian cinema... BIG BUDGET BOLLYWOOD cinema is nothing more than a storyless ty fanservice...It's only STARS and ITEM SONGS. BECAUSE SUBHRA GUPTA IS TEL BLOODY LIES !!! - Dr. Tuhin Kanti Ghosh A LOVER OF GOOD FILMS & DO ENTARIES FROM AROUND THE WORLD. Kolkata West Bengal
                                        Reply
                                        1. I
                                          Ishita
                                          May 13, 2017 at 10:35 pm
                                          I don't agree with this review..Bahubali 2 is an outstanding movie..I want to watch it again and again..and people are also liking it so much ! There are so many people who watched it twice in theatres..It was g ..I loved each and every scene..couldn't take my eyes off even for a minute..specially Amarendra Bahubali's personality was out of the world ! and even Devsena's role was fantastic. For me, this was the best movie ever..I enjo it thoroughly..
                                          Reply
                                          1. t
                                            tpl1889
                                            May 13, 2017 at 9:15 pm
                                            even my 5 year old daughter reviews better than you so next time onward before reviewing ask any kid at least you will have your job otherwise you will be kicked off soon.
                                            Reply
                                            1. P
                                              PRAVEEN
                                              May 20, 2017 at 2:27 pm
                                              VERY WELL SAID.
                                              Reply
                                            2. Load More Comments