Thursday, Apr 02, 2015

Mahesh Babu bags best actor Filmfare south award

Mahesh Babu won the best actor for Telugu movie 'SVSC'. Mahesh Babu won the best actor for Telugu movie 'SVSC'.
By: Indo-Asian News Service | Chennai | Published on:July 13, 2014 4:29 pm

Mahesh Babu won the best actor for Telugu movie “SVSC”, while Nayantara bagged the best actress trophy for her perforamnce in Tamil film “Raja Rani” for the year 2013 at the star-studded 61st Filmfare Awards southern edition.

The best talent across the four southern industries – Tamil, Telugu, Malayalam and Kannada – were felicitated by Filmfare here Saturday.

In Tamil, while Mani Ratnam’s “Kadal” pocketed four awards, filmmaker Bala’s period-drama “Paradesi” and “Thanga Meengal” bagged three awards each. “Raja Rani”, “Neram” won two awards each.

Atharva Murali won the best actor award for his performance as a tea estate slave in “Paradesi”, which also won the best director gong for Bala and the best actor in a supporting female role for Dhansika.

For Romantic-drama “Kadal”, A.R. Rahman bagged the best music director award, Rajeev Menon won the best cinematographer, Shakthisree Gopalan the best playback female singer for the song “Nenjukkule” awards. Gautham Karthik won best the male debut trophy for the same.

Critically acclaimed “Thanga Meengal” won the best film award. Sriram Parthasarathy bagged the best male playback singer trophy for the song “Ananda Yaazhaia”, while Na Muthukumar won the best lyricist gong for the same number from the movie.

Nivin Pauly and Nazriya Nazim won the best debut male and female respectively for the Tamil-Malayalam film “Neram”.

Nayantara bagged the best actress award for her role in “Raja Rani” and Sathyaraj won the best actor in a supporting role award for the same movie.

The critics’ award for best actor went to Dhanush for his powerful performance in “Maryan”. He received the award from Bollywood diva Rekha.

In Telugu, Pawan Kalyan-starrer “Attarintiki Daaredhi” bagged four awards, while Mahesh Babu’s “Seethamma Vakitlo Sirimalle Chettu” won two awards.

Other films such as “Mirchi”, “Tadakha”, “Gunde Jaari Gallanthayyinde” and “Gundello Godari” won one award each.

Mahesh Babu pocketed the best actor award for his performance in “Seethamma Vakitlo Sirimalle Chettu”, which also fetched playback singer K.S. Chitra an award for the film’s title track.

“Attarintiki Daaredhi” won the best film, best director for Trivikram Srinivas, best music director for Devi Sri Prasad and best lyricist for Srimani for the song “Aaradagula Bulletu”.

Kailash Kher won the best playback singer male for the song “Pandagala Digivachavua for the film “Mirchi”.

Sunil and Lakshmi Manchu bagged the best actor in supporting roles male and female awards for films “Tadakha” and “Gundello Godari”, respectively.

The best actor female award went to Nithya Menen for her performance in “Gunde Jaari Gallanthayyinde”.

In Malayalam, “Drishyam”, “Artist” and “Nadan” bagged two awards each, while films such as “Celluloid”, “24 North Kaatham”, “Left Right Left” and “Memories” won an award each.

Critically acclaimed family thriller “Drishyam” bagged the best film award as well as best actor in a supporting role female for Asha Sharath.

Filmmaker Shyamaprasad won the best director award for his “Artist”, which also fetched Ann Augustine best actor female award.

Writer Madhu Vasudev won the continued…

Do you like this story