Tuesday, Mar 31, 2015

Shooting: Ghatkar,Thorat clinch top prize

Written by Express News Service | Pune | Published on:September 30, 2013 1:15 am

Maharashtra girls Pooja Ghatkar and Shital Thorat won the gold medal in the 10 m Air Rifle and 10 m Air Pistol event,respectively,at the Sanjay KKakade Group Gun for Glory shooting championship on Sunday.

In one of the top events at the shooting range of Balewadi complex,Ghatkar shot 207.5 to finish on top in the women’s 10 m Air Rifle event. Second placed Ayonika Paul of Railways scored 205.9,while West Bengal’s bronze medallist Mampi Das finished with a score of 184.2.

In the 10 m Air Pistol for women,Shital Thorat scored 196.7,edging past Uttarakhand’s Prerna Gupta (195.5) in the race for the gold medal. Bronze went to ONGC’s Shweta Chaudhary,who scored 174.3.

In the women’s 10m Air Rifle team event,Railways,which included Ayonika Paul,Radhika Barale and Suma Shirur,clinched the gold medal with a combined score of 1188. The silver was won by Maharashtra team,comprising Pooja Ghatkar,Anjali Bhagwat and Trisha Mukherjee,who shot 1173. Bronze went to Haryana who fielded,Ritu,Vinita Bhardwaj and Aakanksha Jamwal,with the trio logging a score of 1151.

The men’s clay pigeon double trap shooting event was won by Army’s Vishvendra Kumar Singh. Tamil Nadu’s Parthiban Manoharan won the silver,while the bronze medal was won by Maharashtra’s Vikram Kakade. The same event,in the junior category,was won by Maharashtra lad Ashutosh Murkute.

Aliana Paul won the gold in the clay pigeon double trap shooting in the women’s as well as in the juniors’


Do you like this story