Saturday, Apr 25, 2015

Nomination rush hour,as auspicious day arrives

Written by Express News Service | Pune | Published on:March 31, 2009 11:27 pm

Only Maruti Bhapkar from Maval and Vijay Thite from Shirur have filed papers

Two days after the District Election Office began accepting nomination papers for the four Lok Sabha constituencies in the district,only two candidates have filed them,Maruti Bhapkar for Maval Lok Sabha constituency and Vijay Thite for Shirur constituency.

Many others are waiting is that many candidates are waiting for the auspicious moment. As Tuesday is considered an auspicious day,there is going to be a rush,with three NCP candidates and a BSP candidate set to file their nomination papers between 11 am and 12 noon.

City NCP spokesperson Ankush Kakade said,“Our candidates were waiting for the auspicious time. The time between 11 am and 12 noon on Tuesday is considered the best time. All the three NCP candidates in Pune district will file their nomination papers on Tuesday.”

Supriya Sule,daughter of NCP chief Sharad Pawar,will file her nomination papers for Baramati constituency and Vilas Lande for Shirur constituency. The party candidate for Maval constituency is likely to be in the queue at the same time at the election office at the district collectorate. Though the candidate’s name has not been announced,the NCP is likely to decide between Azam Pansare and Laxman Jagtap.

The party has also organised a public rally after the candidates file their nominations. The rally will be held at SSPMS Ground and will be addressed by NCP state chief R R Patil and other leaders.

BSP candidate for Pune Lok Sabha seat D S Kulkarni,a builder-turned-politician,will also file his nomination papers on Tuesday. The party has organised a procession from Deccan Gymkhana to the election office.

Shiv Sena candidate Shivajirao Adhalrao-Patil will file his nomination papers for the Shirur constituency at 12.30 pm on Tuesday. The Sena would also organise a rally in Bhosari at 2 pm.

It is learnt that the Congress candidate will be filing the nomination form on April 2 while the BJP candidate is yet to decide the date.

Maruti Bhapkar,an Independent corporator in Pimpri-Chinchwad Municipal Corporation (PCMC) was the first to file the nomination papers for Maval. He will contest as an Independent candidate and Vijay Thite will contest as a Rashstriya Samaj Paksha candidate.

The last date for filing of nominations is April 4 and the scrutiny of forms will take place on April 6. The last date for withdrawal is April 8 and the polling will take place on April 23. The counting of votes is scheduled on May 16.

Open debate for candidates
The Sajag Nagrik Manch has organised an open debate for all the candidates for the Pune Lok Sabha seat by inviting them to share a common platform “so that the public can raise issues and understand the candidates before voting.”

All the candidates for the Pune constituency have been invited to attend the debate at Zanjale Hall on Bajirao Road on April 5. The public can ask questions to candidates and seek an immediate reply.

Do you like this story