Ajit Pawar retains control in Pune District Central Cooperative Bank polls

Former deputy CM’s panel manages to win 20 out of 21 positions in the board of directors

By: Express News Service | Pune | Updated: May 7, 2015 12:02 am
ajit pawar, pdcc, pune district central cooperative bank, pdcc bank polls, ajit pawar wins pdcc polls, pune news, india news, indian express Ajit Pawar has long held the reins of the bank.

Former deputy chief minister Ajit Pawar managed to retain control over the important Pune District Central Cooperative Bank (PDCC), after his panel managed to win 20 out of the 21 positions in the board of directors of the bank in the elections held recently. The results, which were declared on Wednesday, also saw Balasaheb Nevale defeating the official NCP candidate in Maval by a slim margin of two votes.

The PDCC, by virtue of its position as the apex cooperative bank in the district, has been important for political and social control, especially in the rural areas. Ajit Pawar has long held the reins of the bank.

Share This Article
Related Article

However, the recent change of power in the state government had fueled the BJP-Shiv Sena’s hopes of winning over control of the bank from Pawar. In fact, district guardian minister Girish Bapat had even conducted tours across the district campaiging for BJP. But their hopes were dashed, as other than in Maval, Pawar’s panel managed to win in all seats.

Sitting MLA Dattatreya Bharne and MLC Anil Bhosale are amongst the successful candidates. In Maval, NCP rebel candidate Balasaheb Nevale managed to win the elections with a wafer-thin margin of two votes. Nevale is supposed to be a close confidant of Pawar.

Of the 21 directors, 13 were to be elected from the primary agricultural credit societies (PAC)s who formed the group A of voters. Seven of the seats saw NCP candidates getting elected unopposed.

In group B, C D and the five reserved seats, NCP candidates managed to win with comfortable margins. Pawar defeated his nearest rival Vilas Kakade by a margin of 166 votes.

Senior officers of the cooperative department said the victory of Pawar’s panel was almost a foregone conclusion as the electorate itself was made up of long-time NCP supporters.

“The PACs or the other societies who participate in the election are mostly long-time supporters of the people who have started the banks. Thus it would take a lot to upset the apple cart,” they said.


For all the latest Pune News, download Indian Express App

  1. A
    Jun 1, 2015 at 3:37 pm
    AADHARSTAMBH CREDIT CO-OP. SOCIETY S/No. 26A , A / 101 , Sunflower , Behind Maral Kata , Kondhwa ( BK ) , Pune - 411 048 M - 9881242162 E-Mail Id - May 28 , 2015 To , The HO Manager , PDCC Bank - Bibvewadi Branch , Pune - 411 037 . Sub :- Complaint . Ref :- Our S/B A/C No. 086001700006022 . Sir , I , the undersigned ( Mr. Kiran P. Chavan ) had been to your above referred branch on 26 /05/2015 at 2.30 PM , to open S/B A/C i.f.o. our above mentioned Credit Co-Op. Society . According to your concerned responsible employee guidance , We have opened Joint S/B A/C i.f.o. Mr. Kiran Chavan ( Secretary ) and Mr. ujwal Kae ( President ) , due to our Credit Co-Op. Society's registration is under process . According to your concern branch manager , I have personally visited to your said branch on 28/05/2015 at 02.00 PM , to collect our S/B A/C Pbook . But unfortunately Your branch manager atude , not only he refused to give me Pbook , but also he kept me waiting for hours together , only for 2 additional photographs . ( 1 set already pasted on an Application ) . Our first impression about your Bank is NAGATIVE & NON COOPERATIVE , due to this treatment , we have decided to switchover another Bank for our future cash transactions ( Certainly In Lacks/Crores ) . Please take a note that , You improve your services to valuable depositors . We are not your borrower but we are depositors . Thanking You , and Expecting your Immediate Positive Action Yours Truly , For Aadharstambh Credit Co-Op. Society Mr. Ujwal Kae , Mr. Kiran Chavan , President Secretary