65 lakh voters register in Pune district

Chinchwad has the maximum voters among the 21 Assembly constituencies in the district, registering 45,2649 voters.

Pune | Published: April 8, 2014 5:00:42 am

According to the updated voters list, Pune Lok Sabha constituency has seen an increase of 54,787 voters since January. All four parliamentary seats have registered an increase in the total number of seats, with Shirur seeing an increase of 54,284 voters, followed by Baramati with 45,006 voters and Maval with 36,654 voters. The final voters list — which was approved by the Election Commission (EC) for Pune district — has 65.61 lakh voters.

With an effort to increase the voting percentage from 46.12 per cent in the last elections to 75 per cent, on EC’s directions, the district has now included over 2.13 lakh voters to the list after conducting a special drive. “The drive was to ensure that maximum number of voters are registered and we have now updated the final list,’’ said District Collector Saurabh Rao.

Chinchwad has the maximum voters among the 21 Assembly constituencies in the district, registering 45,2649 voters, followed by Khadakwasla and Hadapsar constituencies, which registered 39,6951 and 39,1243 voters respectively. With special drives held after January 31, the total number of voters have increased in all constituencies .

“The final list was awaited after the special drive was conducted post January 31. The drive, which was initially till March 15 and was extended till March 22, has ensured the increase in voters. We have issued the final list as declared by the EC,’’ said an election official.

In Pune constituency — which has Wadgaonsheri, Shivajinagar, Kothrud, Parvati, Pune Cantonment and Kasba — the total number of voters registered is 18.33 lakh as against 17.79 lakh voters previously. While Baramati constituency has registered 18.09 lakh voters as against 17.64 lakh voters for Daund, Indapur, Baramati, Purandar, Bhor and Khadakwasla constituency, while Shirur constituency has 18.20 lakh voters as against 17.66 lakh voters for Junnar, Ambegaon, Khed, Shirur, Bhosri and Hadapsar. Maval constituency, which had 18.85 lakh voters, now has 19.32 lakh voters for Maval, Chinchwad, Pimpri, Panvel, Karjat and Uran constituency.

With the district collectorate announcing the last date for voter registration as March 15, the EC guidelines also saw some more forms being taken in till March 22. As many as 4,000 forms were then added.

For all the latest Pune News, download Indian Express App

Share your thoughts