Chief Minister Devendra Fadnavis wants Satara, Sangli and Solapur on economic corridor

By pushing Sangli, Satara and Solapur, the government hopes to take development beyond the ‘golden triangle’ of Mumbai, Pune and Nashik.

Written by Shubhangi Khapre | Mumbai | Updated: March 7, 2016 3:30 am

The Maharashtra government has urged the centre to include three important cities of the state — Satara, Sangli and Solapur — in the proposed Bengaluru-Mumbai Economic Corridor (BMEC).

The BMEC is a joint venture mooted between the Government of India, Karanataka and Maharashtra. Maharashtra and Karnataka have already drawn the list of cities through which this economic corridor will criss cross.

The corridor is expected to promote inclusive growth in infrastructure and industries.

Share This Article
Related Article

While the BMEC is still under initial stages, Maharashtra plans to push three important cities which are reeling under drought.

Chief Minister Devendra Fadnavis said that all these three centres are critical since these parts of Western Maharashtra is reeling under drought, and the BMEC could provide fresh economic impetus and help in overall prosperity with sustainable development of the state.

Although Western Maharashtra is among the most prosperous and development regions in terms of agriculture and industries, there are patches which have been hit because of the vagaries of the monsoon.

By pushing Sangli, Satara and Solapur, the government hopes to take economic development beyond the golden triangle of Mumbai, Pune and Nashik.

The latest to be part of the golden triangle is Aurangabad, which got a major phillip thanks to the ambitious Delhi-Mumbai Industrial Corridor.

The concept of BMEC was first discussed in year 2013. The United Kingdom had envisaged interest in cooperating with India for the development of BMEC to study the feasibility in areas of cooperation and partnership.

The project will encompass Karnataka cities including Bengaluru, Dharwad, Davangere, Haveri, Chitradurga and Tumkur.

Initially, Maharashtra had listed Mumbai, Pune and Kolhapur among the cities to be part of the BMEC. Sangli, Satara and Solapur have always been identified with Congress-NCP heavyweights. So, inclusion of these cities in BMEC is aimed at addressing the critics of the BJP who have been saying the government is focusing more on Vidarbha and Marathwada and ignoring Western Maharashtra.

For all the latest Mumbai News, download Indian Express App

  1. A
    Mar 7, 2016 at 4:15 am
    Really good thing. These cities especially Sangli deserved better infrastructure like airport and industries. Hope it is implemented
    1. V
      Vinay Ajgaonkar
      Jul 23, 2016 at 5:37 am
      Village Gondavle, Tal.Man, District Satara is pilgrimage visited by lakhs of people. Pathetic condition of roads for decades. Govt and elected representatives r just neglecting. REAL SHAME!