A clean sweep in Modi wave

NOTA occupied the fifth position - 11,009 opted for it, representing 1.23 per cent of the vote share. ( Source: Reuters ) NOTA occupied the fifth position - 11,009 opted for it, representing 1.23 per cent of the vote share. ( Source: Reuters )

Sena underdog ends Milind Deora’s 10-year smooth run (Mumbai South)

The anti-incumbency coupled with the Modi factor delivered a surprise win to Shiv Sena’s underdog candidate Arvind Sawant, who uprooted Milind Deora from Mumbai South, a seat the Congress MP has held for a decade now. Sawant won by a margin of 1.3 lakh votes.

What’s most surprising is Deora lost a major chunk of votes  in the upscale and posh Malabar Hills area, where Sawant garnered 90,604 votes against Deora’s 29,944 votes.

Deora, who gracefully accepted defeat long before the poll results were out, said, “Several non-Sena supporters also voted for the party to bring NDA in power at the centre. During my campaign, I got the feedback that even if people did not know the three other party candidates, they were still going to vote for them because somewhere they were unhappy with Congress.”

Sawant said, “The Modi factor played a major role in our win by such a huge margin. Cluster development, revival of old mills and work for employment generation will be my priorities.”

Deora said, “This time people have overlooked local issues and candidates and focussed on voting for one party.”
MNS’s Bala Nandgaonkar, who had come second in 2009, just got 84,773 votes, followed by AAP candidate Meera Sanyal who got 40,298 votes. Both lost their deposits.

Sanyal, who stayed inside the counting centre till the very end, later told Newsline, “We were hoping to touch a higher vote share. But this is just the beginning, there is still a lot of work to do. This time the so-called Modi-wave led to such a sweeping victory of Sena-BJP.” Of the 7.7 lakh votes cast in the constituency, NOTA votes stood at 9,563.  — By Tabassum Barnagarwala


Mahajan foils Dutt’s hat-trick (Mumbai North Central)

Riding the Narendra Modi wave and the anti-incumbency, BJP candidate Poonam Majahan garnered more than half of the total 8.45 lakh votes from the Mumbai North Central constituency, considered one of the safest Congress seats. Mahajan beat the two-time MP Priya Dutt by 1.86 lakh votes.

“The results are better than we expected. I’m overwhelmed with the love and support I have received from my constituency. They have shown they are above petty vote bank politics and stand by Modi’s development model,” Mahajan said after her victory.

The BJP received tremendous support from Vile Parle and Chandivali Assembly constituencies, which incidentally also recorded the highest voter turnout. The main battle between the two contenders were seen in the minority-dominated MLA constituencies of Kalina, Kurla CST and Bandra East.

“Poor voter turnout from slum areas greatly benefited our performance, many educated people who are tired of the Congress voted for us. Moreover, the minorities choose to stay away, …continued »