3rd NCP minister enters LS fray

The NCP had earlier claimed the Raigad seat from the Congress in exchange for Hingoli.

Mumbai | Published: March 14, 2014 1:12 am

The Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) Thursday announced the candidature of state’s Water Resources Minister Sunil Tatkare for the Raigad Lok Sabha seat.

The announcement, which comes on expected lines, makes Tatkare the third NCP minister in the state to be fielded for the LS polls.

The party has already fielded Public Works Department Minister Chaggan Bhujbal from Nashik and Minister of State (Revenue) Suresh Dhas from Beed.

The party’s state unit president Bhaskar Jadhav, who has often been at loggerheads with Tatkare, announced the latter’s candidature.

The NCP had earlier claimed the Raigad seat from the Congress in exchange for Hingoli.

Tatkare will take on sitting Shiv Sena MP Anant Geete, who trounced former Congress Chief Minister A R Antulay in 2009.

With the exception of the Maval LS seat in western Maharashtra, the NCP has now declared candidates for all the remaining 20 seats it is contesting in Maharashtra. In Maval, the party is scouting for a candidate after its preferred choice, Independent legislator Laxman Jagtap, refused to contest on an NCP ticket.

Meanwhile, Jadhav also announced that the NCP had the support of two Republican party factions – Republican Party of India (Khobragade) led by former legislator Upendra Shende and Subhash Waghmare-led RPI (S).

Dattatray wins Latur primary to bag Cong ticket Dattatray Bansode Thursday emerged as the Congress candidate for Latur Lok Sabha constituency, where a primary was held to decide the party’s nominee. Bansode, who is the president of district zilla parishad in Latur, came out way ahead of other half-a-dozen candidates in fray by polling 760 votes. He is a close confidant of Amit Deshmukh, son of late Vilasrao Deshmukh.

For all the latest Mumbai News, download Indian Express App

  1. No Comments.