Lucknow betters its voter turnout

Barring minor incidents, voting was largely peaceful.

Written by Hamza Khan | Lucknow | Updated: May 1, 2014 3:52:55 am

Lucknow parliamentary constituency marginally improved its report card with 54.35 per cent voting recorded Wednesday, compared to 52.4 per cent for its five assembly segments in 2012 Assembly polls and 35.30 per cent in 2009 parliamentary elections.

However, it was below the state’s average of 59.06 per cent for the phase. Mohanlalganj, which recorded 47.06 per cent polling in 2009, improved it to 61.17 per cent this time around.

Importantly, it is for the first time since 1996 that poll percentage saw an upward trend and crossed the 50 per cent mark in a parliamentary election in Lucknow.

In 1996, 51.43 per cent votes had been polled and since then the number had constantly dropped in each parliamentary election with 49.81 (1998), 48.57 (1999), 35.42 (2004) and 35.33 in 2009.

Barring minor incidents, voting was largely peaceful. At Unity College polling station, Congress workers alleged Samajwadi Party candidate Abhishek Mishra misbehaved with a party worker, while locals boycotted polls at Makhdoompur Kaithi village in Banthra, where polling started only at 12 noon upon SDM’s intervention.


Despite hot weather conditions, 14 Lok Sabha seats that went to polls Wednesday recorded an increase in voters turn out by 11.26 per cent as compared to 2009 Lok Sabha elections.

Highest polling of 70.40 per cent was recorded in Jhansi Lok Sabha constituency followed by 66.60 per cent in Dhaurahra, 66.40 per cent in Sitapur, 63.90 per cent in Barabanki and 61.17 per cent in Mohanlalganj.

UP Chief Electoral Officer Umesh Sinha said overall average polling in 14 Lok Sabha seats recorded Wednesday was 59.06 per cent, which was 11.26 per cent higher to 2009 when only 47.80 per cent voters had exercised their franchise there. ENS

For all the latest Lucknow News, download Indian Express App

Share your thoughts