Monday, Apr 27, 2015

BSP leaders want party to contest bypolls

Party leaders want Mayawati to reconsider her decision. Party leaders want Mayawati to reconsider her decision.
Written by Ramendra Singh | Lucknow | Updated: August 1, 2014 2:00 am

Considering the changing political equations, especially with BJP losing all three seats in Uttarakhand Assembly bypolls and frequent communal clashes in western Uttar Pradesh, some BSP leaders have decided to request party supremo Mayawati to reconsider her decision of not contesting the upcoming byelection to 12 Assembly seats in the state.

At least two senior leaders confirmed to The Indian Express that they will put their request before Mayawati after she returns to Lucknow from Delhi where she is busy with the ongoing budget session in the Parliament.

They said BSP must contest the bypolls as an alternative against the BJP and the ruling Samajwadi Party in state.

“A lot of people now understand that riots are taking place as they benefit both the SP and the BJP. If there is any disenchantment with the BJP, as the Uttarakhand bypoll results suggest, then it will benefit the BSP. We should take advantage of this. We will request Behenji when she returns from Delhi,” said a senior party leader on the condition of anonymity.

Of the 12 seats where bypolls are due namely Rohaniya, Kairana, Noida, Bijnor, Sirathu, Balha, Fatehpur, Thakurdwara, Charkhari, Saharanpur Nagar, Lucknow East, and Nighasan, the BSP had come second on the first seven in 2012 Assembly elections. These 12 seats got vacated when 11 MLAs of BJP and one of Apna Dal got elected to Lok Sabha.

The BSP failed to win any seat in the Lok Sabha elections, but stood at third place at three of the four Assembly seats where bypolls were held simultaneously. Of these four seats —- Rampur Khas, Unnao, Fatehpur and Vishwanathganj —- BJP won two, and Congress and Apna Dal one each.

First Published on: August 1, 20141:59 am
Do you like this story