V K Singh captures Ghaziabad

Singh’s margin of victory is bigger than the 3.36-lakh vote victory margin.

Written by Aniruddha Ghosal | New Delhi | Published: May 17, 2014 2:11:55 am

Former army chief General V K Singh won from the Ghaziabad parliamentary constituency, defeating his closest challenger, Congress’ Raj Babbar, by a margin of over 5,67,260 votes.

Singh polled 7,58,482 votes, while Babbar polled 1,91,222 votes.

BSP’s Mukul Upadhyay polled 1,73,085 votes, SP candidate Sudhan Rawat 1,06,984 votes and AAP’s Shazia Ilmi 89,147 votes.

Singh’s margin of victory is bigger than the 3.36-lakh vote victory margin — as of 8.30 pm — that ensured Narendra Modi’s victory over AAP leader Arvind Kejriwal in Varanasi.

Modi’s victory in Vadodara over Congress candidate Madhusudan Mistry — by a margin of 5,70,128 votes —  was bigger than Singh’s victory by only 2,868 votes.

With the counting centre at Govindpuram heavily guarded by police and paramilitary forces, supporters began flocking to Singh’s temporary residence in Raj Nagar once the former army chief had overtaken others in the fray by 20,000 votes after 1 pm.

At the same time, BSP, SP and Congress supporters were seen leaving the counting centre.

Sweets were shared, crackers were burst and drum-beats rent the air as the rhythmic chant of “Modi-Modi” became the soundtrack of BJP’s victory in the constituency.

Singh kept away from the party office while counting was going on.

A member of his core committee said he was “watching the results from an undisclosed location”.

But after Singh reached the office following the official declaration of his victory, the celebrations that had never really stopped got a fresh boost.

Singh said that he had always been confident of victory  and that he would now focus his energy on the betterment of the people of Ghaziabad.

For all the latest Delhi News, download Indian Express App

Share your thoughts