Tickets for 2 more councillors; Nangloi on hold

Two more councillors made it to the party’s second list of candidates for the Assembly elections.

Written by Pragya Kaushika | New Delhi | Published: November 13, 2013 1:58:59 am

Fearing rebellion from its candidate Master Azad Singh,who is also mayor of the BJP-ruled North Delhi Municipal Corporation,the party has withheld announcement of its candidate in the Nangloi Assembly seat.

Azad Singh,who is also the brother of former chief minister Sahib Singh Verma,had threatened to resign earlier. But what made the party put on hold declaration of the candidate is Azad Singh’s following in the area. Last Sunday,the village panchayat had declared that sitting MLA Manoj Shokeen will not be allowed to campaign in their village.

It is the opposition that the sitting MLA is facing from the locals that the party has decided to keep the Nangloi seat on hold. Singh had told senior party leaders that he would like to contest from Mundka and Shokeen should be given ticket from Nangloi. The issue,however,remained unresolved and,therefore,the candidate for Nangloi seat is yet to be decided.

However,two more councillors made it to the party’s second list of candidates for the Assembly elections. Former mayor and sitting councillor Rajni Abbi has been declared as the candidate from Timarpur. She will contest against sitting MLA Surinder Pal Singh whereas chairman,standing committee (North corporation) Ram Kishan Singhal will fight against sitting MLA Mangat Ram Singhal. The total tally of councillors contesting the elections has gone up to eight,including Abbi and Singhal.

Guggan Singh,who is the scheduled caste morcha president of Bawana,is the BJP candidate from Bawana constituency and Brahm Singh Tanwar,who lost to Congress candidate Balram Tanwar by 5,000 votes,has been given a third chance. Dhir Singh Bidhuri,considered close to Rambir Singh Bidhuri,will be fighting from Okhla against Asif Mohammed Khan. Rampal Singh will be fighting against Veer Singh Dhingan in Seemapuri and Jagdish Pradhan,considered a strong candidate in the seat,will be fighting against Hasan Ahmed from Mustafabad.

Pradhan is a two-time councillor from the Congress and,in 2007,he quit the Congress and joined the BJP. Last-time candidate Yogendra Sharma lost by a margin of 979 votes.

For all the latest Delhi News, download Indian Express App

Share your thoughts