In third list, AAP fields new faces on rural seats it lost

With its third list, the party declared 45 of the total 70 candidates for Delhi.

Written by Dipankar Ghose | New Delhi | Published: December 11, 2014 3:34 am

The Aam Aadmi Party on Wednesday continued its push to gain ground in Assembly seats where it was unsuccessful a year ago, by announcing an entirely new line up of candidates from 10 constituencies.

With its third list, the party declared 45 of the total 70 candidates for Delhi. Four of the 10 seats on the AAP list are in rural areas, which had been identified in AAP circles as those that required improvement.

In the rural seats, the party is banking on “local leaders” who joined the AAP in the past year. From Chhattarpur, the party has fielded former BJP councillor Kartar Singh Tanwar. Former BSP candidate Sharad Chauhan, who lost the 2008 election by less than a 1,000 votes, has been named from Narela.

AAPlistSahi Ram, an influential former BSP candidate who lost the previous Assembly election to Rambir Bidhuri, has been fielded from Tughlaqabad and Ved Prakash has been fielded from Bawana.

The party has also rewarded four “loyal members of the AAP organisation” — Rituraj Jha, Praveen Kumar, Nitin Tyagi and
S K Bagga — by naming them for Kirari, Jungpura, Laxminagar and Krishnanagar, respectively.

A senior party leader said, “Jha has been rewarded for turning around our fortunes in Kirari from the last Assembly elections to the Lok Sabha elections. Nitin Tyagi was in-charge of East Delhi, while Praveen Kumar and Bagga are both dedicated party members. In fact, one of the reasons M S Dhir, the former Delhi speaker, quit the AAP to join the BJP was because he was aware that the party intended to field Praveen Kumar.”

The party fielded former sales head of Apple and grandson of Lal Bahadur Shastri, Adrash Shastri, from the Dwarka seat. Shastri, who is an integral part of the party’s Delhi Dialogues programme, will provide the AAP with ideas and professional expertise if they form government, a senior leader said.

Centre finds no foreign funding for AAP

The Central government on Wednesday informed the Delhi High Court that it had not found any “foreign” sources of donations to the AAP. The submission was made by Central government counsel Jasmeet Singh in a PIL filed by advocate M L Sharma, seeking a probe into alleged “foreign funding” of the AAP.  The court has now directed Sharma to file a fresh affidavit on the “evidence” after he argued that over 60,000 AAP donors were “foreign sources”. (Aneesha Mathur)

For all the latest Delhi News, download Indian Express App

  1. M
    Dec 11, 2014 at 8:57 pm
    great list AAP will win with great margins
    1. Ankit Rahim
      Dec 28, 2014 at 5:06 am
      bhaktjanooo kaho ho saalo ab to kudh ke government ne clean de di ? ab bjp ko CIA and anti national bolo.
      1. J
        Dec 12, 2014 at 3:47 pm
        Who is funding this MLSharma who is filing peions repeatedly against AAP on foreign fundings whereas the HC verdict has established the fact that both bjpcong has been receiving foreign fundings?
        1. M
          Mrigank Mongia
          Dec 12, 2014 at 5:38 pm
          "BJP leader says AAP is foreign funded" - becomes headlines in all media. "Center finds no foreign funding in AAP" - gets sidelined in all media. Fools.
          1. N
            Dec 11, 2014 at 11:02 am
            It is not only interesting, but also very disconcerting to notice how some groups of people that are against Chatur Varnas, are enamored to clasp les of pundits (scholars) as their surnames, that is indicative of a brahmin cl (varna). An example is Lal Bahadur, a former prime minister of India, whose surname became Shastri, and then (now) followed by his son Adarsh. Can we really entrust governance of Bharat to such fakes?
            1. Load More Comments