DUSU polls: ABVP bags 3 seats, NSUI makes comeback with one

According to DUSU chief election commissioner D S Rawat, Amit Tanwar (ABVP) won the presidential position by getting 16,357 votes.

By: Express News Service | New Delhi | Updated: September 11, 2016 7:08 am
dusu polls, dusu polls result, dusu elections, delhi university elections, delhi university election results, dusu elections results, dusu election winners, dusu polls winners, dusu results, abvp, abvp president, abvp winners, nsui, nsui winner, india news New Delhi: ABVP candidates Amit Tanwar, Priyanka Chabri and Ankit Sangwan celebrate their victory after winning the post of President, Vice President and Secretary in the 2016 DUSU elections in Delhi. (Source: PTI Photo)

In tune with a four-year-old trend of Akhil Bharatiya Vidyarthi Parishad (ABVP) dominating the Delhi University Students’ Union elections, the organisation’s candidates bagged three seats, including that of president, in results announced Saturday. Unlike the last two years, when ABVP had a clean sweep in DUSU polls, Congress-affiliated National Students’ Union of India (NSUI) managed to wrest the joint-secretary’s position.

“This is the fourth consecutive year when ABVP has won the DUSU polls. We had raised the issue of nationalism during our campaign and students of Delhi University supported our stand. The students of Delhi University have shown their faith in us again,” said Bharat Khatana, ABVP Delhi state secretary.

According to DUSU chief election commissioner D S Rawat, Amit Tanwar (ABVP) won the presidential position by getting 16,357 votes. He won by a margin of 4,680 votes. Similarly, ABVP’s Priyanka bagged the vice-president’s post by securing 15,592 votes. ABVP’s Ankit Sangwan won the secretary post with 15,518 votes. NSUI’s Mohit Garid received 16,526 votes to win the joint-secretary post. “A significant number of 17,712 voters opted for NOTA, introduced in the DUSU polls this year,” said Rawat.

A three-way contest unfolded this year, with candidates from ABVP, NSUI and All India Students’ Association (AISA). The AAP’s student wing, Chhatra Yuva Sangharsh Samiti, which lost last year on debut, did not enter the fray. The polling had been lukewarm Friday, with a turnout of around 36 per cent.

While the All India Students’ Association (AISA) did not manage to secure any DUSU posts, its vote share continued to see an upward trend. AISA’s vote share saw a rise of 2 per cent for the president’s post, while the figure stood at around 9 per cent for posts of vice-president and joint-secretary. After the results, Youth Congress spokesperson Amrishranjan Pandey said, “This is a big achievement. We have managed to break the trend seen in last two years… Having said that, there were some issues with polling. Many colleges witnessed technical problems in EVMs… Two ABVP candidates also changed their surnames within a month. It seems like the BJP is treating this as an ego issue instead of a students’ union election.”