• Associate Sponsor

Cong divide deepens,factions blame each other for poll rout

On the flip side,another section of losing MLAs believe it is time for a leadership change.

Written by Express News Service | New Delhi | Published: December 12, 2013 12:51 am

The blame game within the Congress in Delhi has intensified. With several leaders being pulled up for the poll debacle,which saw the party’s legislators in the Assembly plummet from 43 to eight,the Delhi Pradesh Congress Committee (DPCC) and the erstwhile Sheila Dikshit-led Delhi government have begun trading charges.

Even as Dikshit recently claimed that she had received little party support during the campaign,the DPCC believes they were kept out of the loop. Both camps have now demanded a change in Delhi’s leadership.

A section of the senior Congress MLAs put the blame on the Congress’s Delhi unit for Congress’s inability to grasp ground-level reality. According to these leaders,the DPCC’s lackadaisical attitude towards the elections had cost them Delhi and this was something they said they would take up with the Congress high command.

According to Congress sources,Delhi’s losing MLAs did not want to make any public statements,neither did they want to comment on Dikshit’s public criticism of the DPCC.

“To be frank,the Congress did not contest this election. We received absolutely no support from the Delhi Pradesh Congress Committee (DPCC). Till today,I haven’t received a number of documents they were supposed to give me before we started campaigning,” a senior Congress leader said.

On the flip side,another section of losing MLAs believe it is time for a leadership change.

“We warned Sheila Dikshit that high electricity and water bills,along with the AAP’s promise to reduce both,was a major factor,but to little avail. The leadership in Delhi refused to listen to what even senior MLAs had to say,” said an MLA who lost.

Sources in the Congress also stated that the party committees formed ahead of the polls were largely cosmetic.

“The election,manifesto and publicity committees had little role to play. The election committee held some meetings but all sitting MLAs were renominated and the remaining names were decided by Dikshit and DPCC chief J P Agarwal,” a DPCC functionary said.

For all the latest Delhi News, download Indian Express App

  1. No Comments.