BJP’s star campaigners:Actors,CM candidates of ‘ideal’ states

Dates of campaigning by star campaigners are being finalised by the party’s national office.

Written by Pragya Kaushika | New Delhi | Published: November 19, 2013 1:52 am

This year,the names of BJP’s chief ministerial candidates from the “ideal” states will figure on the party’s list of star campaigners for the Delhi Assembly elections.

These star campaigners include the CM candidates of Gujarat,Chhattisgarh and Madhya Pradesh,and Rajasthan’s former Chief Minister Vasundhara Raje Scindhia.

According to senior leaders,the dates of campaigning by the star campaigners are being finalised by the party’s national office.

Gujarat Chief Minister and BJP’s prime ministerial candidate Narendra Modi along with his Chhattisgarh and Madhya Pradesh counterparts,Raman Singh and Shivraj Singh Chouhan,are some of the star campaigners for the December 4 polls picked by the Delhi BJP. Others include actors Hema Malini,Kirron Kher,Shatrughan Sinha,Smriti Irani and Manoj Tiwari.

The party’s senior leaders,such as Nitin Gadkari,Sushma Swaraj,Arun Jaitley,L K Advani,Sushil Kumar Modi,Harsh Vardhan and Vijay Goel,form the majority of the star campaigners.

Delhi will also see rallies held by BJP leaders Prem Kumar Dhumal,Bhuvan Chand Khandoori,Anuraag Thakur,Varun Gandhi,Meenakshi Lekhi,Kirti Azad,C P Thakur,Shanta Kumar,

Ravi Shankar Prasad,Mukhtar Abbas Naqvi,Shahnawaz Hussain,Ananth Kumar,and Navjot Singh Sidhu.

According to official dates,Swaraj was initially supposed to begin campaigning from November 27. However,she began her campaigning from November 18.

Leaders claim the mismatch in dates was a result of lack of coordination between the state and national offices.

They said despite a coordination committee managing rallies and meetings,the national office is still governing dates. The leaders said the committee was yet to streamline the programmes of the senior leaders.

For all the latest Delhi News, download Indian Express App

  1. No Comments.