All 8 Cong MLAs find place in poll panels

Meanwhile, Congress leaders Sajjan Kumar and Jagdish Tytler have not been included in any committee.

By: Express News Service | New Delhi | Published: November 25, 2014 1:52:04 am

All eight Congress MLAs of the Delhi Assembly have found a place in the four committees formed for planning the party’s campaign in the upcoming Delhi Assembly polls.

Former Delhi minister A K Walia — who lost his Laxmi Nagar Assembly seat — has been appointed the chairman of the manifesto committee. The committee also has Mateen Ahmed (Seelampur) among its members.

Delhi Congress president and Gandhi Nagar MLA Arvinder Singh Lovely has been appointed the chairman of the Pradesh Election Committee, which includes AICC general secretaries Janardan Dwivedi and Ajay Maken, former Delhi chief minister Sheila Dikshit among others.

MLAs Devender Yadav (Badli), Haroon Yusuf (Ballimaran), Hasan Ahmed (Mustafabad), Jai Kishan (Sultanpur Majra) are also in the committee. The publicity committee, led by Haroon Yusuf, also has Asif Mohd. Khan (Okhla) among its members.

Walia was given the task of drafting the party’s vision document in July. “It is still to early to give any details of what the manifesto will contain. But in previous years, the Congress did not make unrealistic promises — unlike the AAP and the BJP,” Walia said.

Lovely, who addressed his first rally in his Assembly constituency, said the election would be fought on the lines of development work undertaken by the Congress in their 15-year rule in Delhi.

Meanwhile, Congress leaders Sajjan Kumar and Jagdish Tytler have not been included in any committee. Their  alleged involvement in the 1984 anti-Sikh riots had caused controversy after rumors emerged that they would be part of Delhi’s election panel.

Former Delhi MP Sandeep Dikshit and former Union Minister Kapil Sibal are also not part of any of the four committees.

AICC general secretary and Delhi in-charge Shakeel Ahmed is also not any commiittee as he had applied for to go abroad for personal reasons during elections.

However, sources said his leave has not yet been approved.

For all the latest Delhi News, download Indian Express App

Share your thoughts