The line-up for Chandigarh municipal elections: Eight new faces in BJP’s list of contenders

Majority of the candidates are from BJP chief Sanjay Tandon’s camp

Written by Hina Rohtaki | Chandigarh | Updated: November 23, 2016 9:42:48 am

THE BJP Tuesday announced its list of candidates who would be contesting the Municipal Corporation polls scheduled to be held next month. Of the total 26 seats, four seats were left for the candidates of Shiromani Akali Dal, one seat was left undecided. On the 21 seats where BJP candidates will contest, eight are new faces while five are those who have contested once but lost.

Watch What Else is Making News

Only eight current councillors are among those who will contest. Of these, only two will contest from their own wards. All the remaining have been shifted to other wards.

Ward 3 where Congress Chief Pardeep Chhabra is the sitting councillor has been left undecided, ward numbers 5, 9, 10 and 15 have been left vacant for SAD. SAD was adamant that they want five seats in the MC polls this time.

Majority of the candidates are from BJP Chief Sanjay Tandon’s camp. The meeting of the poll panel was held with the high command at Delhi where the list was finalised.

Raj Bala Malik, who is the sitting councillor from ward 1 (Sectors 1 to 11), would now contest from ward number 2 (Sectors 12,14,15 and Khuda Lahora). After ward 2 was declared reserved for women, sitting councillor Saurabh Joshi has been sent to ward 18 which comrpises sectors 27,28 and 30. Only Mayor Arun Sood and Davesh Moudgil will contest from their own wards that is ward 8 and 22 respectively.

Heera Negi, who is the councillor from ward 21 (Sectors 32 and 46), will contest from ward 13 (sectors 49,50 and 51). Despite the fact that ward 4 (Sectors 23, 24 and 36) was reserved for women and Asha Jaiswal is the sitting councillor, it has been decided that she would be contesting from ward 17 (Sectors 18,19 and 21). Satish Kainth, who is the councillor from ward 20 (Sector 29, industrial area phase 1) has been fielded from ward 11 (sectors 53,54,55, 56 and colony areas).

Those new faces who will be contesting this time are, Mahesh Inder Sidhu from ward 1, Sunita Dhawan who will contesting from ward 4, Farmila from ward 6, Kanwar Rana from ward 14, Shakti Devshali from ward 20, Gurpreet Singh Dhillon from ward 21, Bharat Kumar from ward 23 and Vinod Aggarwal from ward 26.

Those who have already contested the polls in the past and have been given tickets this time are Chandrawati Shukla, Jagtar Singh Dhillon, Anil Dubey, Rajesh Kalia and Raj Kishore. While Chandrwati Shukla would be contesting from ward 12, Dhillon would be contesting from ward 25 , Rajesh Kalia from ward 7 , Raj Kishore from ward 19 and Dubey has been fielded from ward 24.

Most of the candidates are lawyers by profession. The candidates will start filing nominations from Thursday.

The Congress is expected to announce its list on November 26 or 27. The candidates would now be fielded according to the BJP candidates.

For all the latest Chandigarh News, download Indian Express App

Share your thoughts